1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Quick help on AC57U and no VPN settings

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by Pacemaker1000, Jun 12, 2019.

  1. Pacemaker1000

    Pacemaker1000 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Just bought this to use as a VPN router but no options in dashboard?
    Doing something wrong or is VPN not supported on this router and need to return ASAP?
    Bought on Amazon and VPN was in the spec
    Latest Firmware installed
    Checked Merlin and it’s not covered

    Cheers in advance for quick response
     
  2. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,266
    Location:
    UK
    Pacemaker1000 likes this.
  3. AndreiV

    AndreiV Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    871
    Location:
    пішли на риболовлю
    Amazon at its best ......... 2 entries for the same model number, 2 different descriptions and specs.

    At @ £55 you are not likely to get VPN and Media server.
     
    Pacemaker1000 likes this.
  4. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,266
    Location:
    UK
    I've searched the internet for "(Server and Client VPN, Access Point Mode, MU-MIMO)" and that description appears nowhere else other than that Amazon UK listing. I would conclude that the description is wrong.
     
  5. Pacemaker1000

    Pacemaker1000 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Thought at 890mhz and dual core It would do it as faster than AC51u that definately does
    in the wrt menu actually shows 4 cores?
     
  6. Pacemaker1000

    Pacemaker1000 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    if no good what is the best cheap option?
    I disreguarded the AC51U at only £35 as too slow with single core and circa 500mhz
    my max download is only 30meg though
    Went ASUS as seemed simple to add nordvpn files.
    did notice no access in the app as well as thought this was easy way to swap vpn severs and another main reason for going ASUS
     
  7. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,266
    Location:
    UK
    If that's the case then maybe it's been removed for marketing reasons.:confused::eek:

    In any case, if it's not there it's not there. Just checking - it is in "router mode"?
     
  8. Pacemaker1000

    Pacemaker1000 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    please see edited post #6
     
  9. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,266
    Location:
    UK
    I don't think at this point in time I could recommend with a clear conscience any Asus router with a spec lower than the RT-AC66U_B1. But at £95 that's probably more than you want to pay?
     
    L&LD likes this.
  10. Pacemaker1000

    Pacemaker1000 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Yes but I need it as a AP
     
  11. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,266
    Location:
    UK
    VPN client doesn't work in AP mode.
     
  12. Pacemaker1000

    Pacemaker1000 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    So router mode and vpn client?
    Asus connected to maIn router via wan connection so can connect Devices to asus WiFi and Ethernet for VPN and main router for normal connection.

    Think dad-wrt would work?
     
  13. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,266
    Location:
    UK
    That would work with asuswrt (on devices that support VPN). I don't know anything about VPN clients on dd-wrt.
     
    Pacemaker1000 likes this.
  14. Pacemaker1000

    Pacemaker1000 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Looks like next ones up that do VPN is 1200G+ 900 single core or 58U 710 4 core.
    Any thoughts?

    Tbh don’t even need WiFi just something to run VPN through
     
  15. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    9,266
    Location:
    UK
    The number of cores is largely irrelevant because OpenVPN can only use one core. As for the 58U I couldn't comment.

    How may clients need to go through the VPN? Maybe you could just run the VPN client on the device itself.
     
    Pacemaker1000 likes this.
  16. Pacemaker1000

    Pacemaker1000 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Ok, so if single core required what is minimum for a 30mb broadband? Most travel routers are only 300-500mhz
    Most devices can run vpn on their own, couple iPads plus openVPN on Kodi etc. But need for smart TV. Did think of connecting everything through the router for simplicity. Does more connections mean slower speed?
    Cheers
     
  17. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    31,007
    Location:
    Canada
    Depends on one's needs. Back in the day, my most frequently sold model was the RT-N12U, because it was all people needed to get their Email and post on Facebook. At its price, it was a pretty good deal.
     
  18. Pacemaker1000

    Pacemaker1000 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    I think it’s all about processor speed to cope with VPN . In my case 30meg.
    The ac57 is powerful enough but for some reason asus have omitted vpn on this particular model?
     
  19. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    31,007
    Location:
    Canada
    Only 16 MB of flash - not enough space most likely to include OpenSSL, OpenVPN, etc...

    128 MB of RAM would also be fairly tight.