What's new

Recently identified guest network security issue(s)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

DartVadr

New Around Here
Long time lurker on this forum, but first time poster. I really appreciate the knowledge and experience of the folks that frequent this forum!

I just read the article at the first link below and then decided to check out the associated web page and whitepaper. I'm no security expert, but it sounds like most/all wireless routers are likely vulnerable to "covert channel" attacks between their host and guest networks. I'm guessing that it won't be long until bad actors are actively exploiting the techniques identified in the paper.

Sounds like the router manufacturers that were contacted either aren't taking these vulnerabilities seriously or the issues aren't fixable. Posting this information for awareness and maybe a bit of discussion about what might be done to mitigate the issues within alternative firmware such as Asuswrt-Merlin.

https://techxplore.com/news/2019-08-router-guest-networks-lack-adequate.html
https://orenlab.sise.bgu.ac.il/p/CrossRouter
https://www.usenix.org/system/files/woot19-paper_ovadia.pdf

Some of these are non-issue, or have zero to do with guest networks, quite frankly. For instance, they complain that you can conduct a DoS attack by repeatedly attempting to connect over SSH, something that has nothing to do with the presence of a guest network, and something that some manufacturers already handle through throttling connection attempts...