What's new

Recommend a good quality coax/Ethernet test tool for home use?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

OzarkEdge

Part of the Furniture
I could use a good quality coax/Ethernet cable/connector test tool for home use... I'd appreciate recommendations here. I checked Klien Tools but they have too many choices for me to decipher with any confidence... I have no experience using such tools.

Thanks!

OE

Last edited:
I could use a good quality coax/Ethernet cable/connector test tool for home use... I'd appreciate recommendations here. I checked Klien Tools but they have too many choices for me to decipher with any confidence... I have no experience using such tools.

Thanks!

OE

For years I have used a couple of these from Monoprice. As the reviews show, good stuff at a reasonable price.

Thanks!

OE
Do you just need to check a cable that it is pinned correctly and there is continuity on all pairs or do you want to certify that a cable with handle certain speeds?

Do you just need to check a cable that it is pinned correctly and there is continuity on all pairs or do you want to certify that a cable with handle certain speeds?

Both sound useful.

My Ethernet is exposed patch cords and a few custom cables, so easy to troubleshoot/swap out. I can continue to trust Ethernet blindly until I have in-wall segments and wall plate connectors (next house?) that may require confirmation that they are ok and not the problem. But, being able to test custom Ethernet cables may save me some grief, if I ever make some more.