What's new

Router stops when connected to Smart Switch

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

phizzman

Occasional Visitor
Hello everyone,

I recently purchased a Netgear Prosafe GS716t smart switch for my home network. My challenge is every time I connect my router (ASUS RT-n56u) to the switch, the router stops working (even all the lights go off) causing my pc's to be disconnected. I am new to smart switches but that seems like odd behavior. This happened with the all the default settings applied except for a static ip address being assigned to the switch (I have messed with a few settings since). I have tried different ports, cables, and I looked thru the manual and the web interface to see if I could determine the cause without luck. I'm guessing there is a port setting that I am missing somewhere. I will be contacting Netgear support tomorrow, but I thought I'd see if I was missing something obvious first.

Overall my network has 2 pcs, 2 laptops, a Synology NAS, a networked laser printer and a networked all-in-one inkjet. This also happens when nothing else is connected.

Thanks!

I'd try the switch stand-alone, connect one PC to the switch, and follow the instructions to reset the switch to factory defaults. then try it again in the LAN - to a LAN port on your router.
If that doesn't fix it, perhaps the Netgear switch is trying to do STP or some netgear proprietary management protocol that crashes the router - but I'd think these would be disable as factory defaults.

And the Netgear switch would not be doing PoE sourcing, right?

I'm assuming you have the switch connected to a router LAN port with only one cable.