What's new

RT-AC68U External HD and DLNA

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

theleran

New Around Here
I am very new to this networking stuff, and I have no idea where to even look in these forums, so please forgive if this is a duplicate posting. I have the RT-AC68U and have connected an USB 3.0 ext HD via the USB 3.0 port on router. Now with this same HD, on an older asus router, I could view and read/write through windows file explorer under the Network section. It would show up in several places, the 1st allowed read/write, the rest all opened a webpage to the routers config. Now with this RT-AC68U router, the HD shows up only as a media device which opens the router config UI and a network location, which allows a folder view of the HD, but accessing the files will prompt a download as opposed to before where I could read/write directly. Please help.

I am not using the AI Cloud or any other sharing apps built into router. Just plugged in HD and thats it. I can view media files thru DLNA to my TV and phone.

what you are facing is some of the network share difficulties of this router.. while others will have much more proper technical explanation of how to do this in your case but try in windows explorer

\\your-media-server-name

for example if your media server name is MediaServer

\\MediaServer

this sometime works for me when i cant access the router shared drives as you have mentioned above..

you will find your mediaserver name at Usb Applications / Servers center / Misc Settings in router config page

Unfortunately that didn't work. When I typed into File Explorer the green bar slowly filled the text box from left to right then nothing changed on the display.