1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Stable replacement for R7000

Discussion in 'NETGEAR AC Wireless' started by Carnagerover, Oct 17, 2014.

  1. Carnagerover

    Carnagerover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    Thanks for the reply again,

    Due to the time difference, me being from the UK I had already bought the Linksys 214 VPN router when you replied to me, went for the 214 as I am not likely to ever have use for a second internet connection.

    This is how I have it setup up currently;

    Linksys 214 >GS108T
    Linksys 214 > Netgear Nighthawk which is in AP Mode

    I have noticed a few odd things in the log though so far;

    upnpd[437]: Failure obtaining ip address of interface eth1

    This comes up a lot

    Also;

    upnpd[437]: UPNP Rule is not FULL!!!

    Not sure what the failure to obtain ip address is all about, I'm assuming the UPMP rule is just something that it is saying after creating an entry.
     
  2. Trip

    Trip Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,230
    Cool - good luck with the 214. That bug looks like a leftover from the Cisco RV architecture, upon which the LRT is built -- the bug throws errors when devices try and register via UPnP, and can quite often lock up the router under certain circumstances. If you don't need UPnP, I would disable it if possible. Moving forward, I would keep a close eye on how it performs over the next week or two, so you're still inside the return window if, heaven forbid, you should need to replace this one with yet another.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2014
  3. Carnagerover

    Carnagerover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    Hi,

    We do tend to use UPNP as quite a few programs use random ports and the like, I have just spoken to Linksys support who say that disabling UPNP is the only solution to stop the errors. However it shouldn't affect the stability of the router :eek:

    Here's hoping it will be fine as I would prefer to leave it on
     
  4. Trip

    Trip Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Messages:
    1,230
    That's kind of thing I was talking about before... and the kind of response you'll get quite often for devices of this class. That said, $175 might be pocket change in the world of trouble-free networking, but in my opinion, stuff like this should be flushed out in QA testing before release. Alas, many of these "small business" products are just as plagued by half-baked development as the consumer stuff. Not saying you should return it right away, but just be attentive moving forward. GL!
     
  5. Carnagerover

    Carnagerover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    Yeah, its a shame no doubt, and I know from reading my fair share of articles on here that this is also a view that Tim shares about equipment being released in a state, and people just lapping it up. The R7000 and the LRT-214 are the last new networking gear that I am going to buy, you pay more and are beta testers for equipment that should work and be 98% bug free on arrival, I as well as other people get excited about networking gear which is great but after what happened with the R7000 I have more than my fill.

    I hope that it remains stable but turning off UPNP is not much of a fix if any, something like UPNP should just work, I can't see that my setup is so complex that this issue would not arise on other peoples setups or a in a QA lab for instance.
     
  6. Carnagerover

    Carnagerover Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    First problem encountered,

    My iPhone 5s has been connected to the new system for about 9 hours now I think, however it will no longer work on the Internet, on both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz I have a full signal but no internet. I am typing this on a iPad mini that is connected to 5Ghz fine but I have rebooted the iPhone as well as forgetting the network and re setting it up.

    :(

    Its not looking good for the new system, uptime of 10 hours 8 minutes and I have had to reboot the LRT-214 in able to get the iPhone 5s to connect to the internet again, firstly I rebooted the Nighthawk and that didn't cure it so I rebooted the LRT-214 and the iPhone 5s is now back on the network working fine.
     
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2014