1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Switch - Confirming Functionality to Be Sure...

Discussion in 'Switches, NICs and cabling' started by mystik1, Dec 8, 2019.

  1. mystik1

    mystik1 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    I made a post in here a while back on this, but I have been hesitant to pull the trigger for fear of buying the wrong solution. To recap, I have a PC and a NAS that I want to communicate at speeds higher than 1 GbE. I am trying to find a very good solution but also as affordable as I can get away with. The PC's adapter and the NAS both use RJ-45. I already have CAT7 cables. If I buy this:

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B076642YPN/?tag=snbforums-20

    Will it indeed give me 10 GbE between the NAS and PC if both are connected through those two ports that support 10 GbE? I believe it will since, as I understand it, the communication would be done 100% through the switch in that case, and not use the router at all. Is that right? I currently have the NAS connecting directly to the PC, but when extracting archives from the NAS in Windows, it seems to be still going through the 1 GbE router for some reason, which locks up access to the NAS (since it hits 100% utilization). This is what I am trying to get around. Thanks much in advance!
     
  2. ChuckTin

    ChuckTin Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2019
    Messages:
    18
    I'd look at your NIC configuration. It could be set to (or capable of!) 1Gb only and that would certainly neck down the thru put.
     
  3. mystik1

    mystik1 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    I am using a Thunderbolt 3 to 10 GbE adapter.
     
  4. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,159
    What kind of NAS do you have? How are you extracting the archives? Through Network in Windows? Or, are you connecting to your NAS' built-in folder management utility? If you are not doing the latter, the upgraded connections to 10GBe won't be much help (it will still be going through the network).

    Give us a few more details (more is better!) and you may already have the possibility to bypass this bottleneck already with the options you currently have. :)
     
  5. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14,318
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Consider the MikroTik CRS309-1G-8S+IN

    It's layer2, but a very good value @ $270

    For something smaller... MikroTik CRS305-1G-4S+IN

    They're both SFP, so one has some flexibility whether using copper or glass...