What's new

Time Machine not working 386.8 GT-AXE16000

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

DMcD-EMS-USMC

Occasional Visitor
Saw this thread here https://www.snbforums.com/threads/time-machine-does-not-work-in-386-4.77134/ but of course we are talking different hardware/firmware but same error message. I am not technically proficient at coding so all I can say is when I do a clean install of 386.8 and then trying to setup Time Machine on my Mac Studio the disk is not recognized (same error message as in the linked thread) but when I revert to latest stock ASUSWRT firmware (clean install Version 3.0.0.4.386.49533) Time Machine works without a hitch. Not sure if there is a fix that my simple mind can digest or just have to wait for an updated ASUSWRT-Merlin firmware (which I prefer-thanks Merlin). Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

TimeMachine has changed quite a bit over the last couple of MacOS releases...

One is that the sparsebundle image now can support APFS vs. HFS.

Also, for newer releases, Apple has moved away from AFP (netatalk) over to CIFS/SMB for file sharing, and Apple Silicon Macs, IIRC, don't even support AFP

The point here is that TimeMachine is Apple's thing, and third party solutions may break without warning, as Apple doesn't document TimeMachine for external developers.

TimeMachine has changed quite a bit over the last couple of MacOS releases...

One is that the sparsebundle image now can support APFS vs. HFS.

Also, for newer releases, Apple has moved away from AFP (netatalk) over to CIFS/SMB for file sharing, and Apple Silicon Macs, IIRC, don't even support AFP