What's new

VPN tunneling for torrent only with Kill Switch capabilities

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Totojet81

New Around Here
Hello everybody,

New on this community and hope to find a solution to my problem. I'm not an expert in network but I will try to explain my wish the best I can.

My setup in very simple:
- An Asus RT-AX58U (sadly v2 so no Merlin FW...) used to replace my ISP garbage device;
- A Synology NAS DS220j (j series so no docker possible...);
- A paid VPN account successfuly setup but not connected at this time on my routeur and my NAS;

I would like, as a lot of people, use my VPN connection only for torrent download (with kill switch capabilities) and leave others applications/services use the default WAN. However, due to my technical (and knowledge) limitations (no Merlin, no Docker...) I have a lot of difficulties to make it work...

The "best" solution I achieved is to setup the VPN on my Synology NAS, activate the "Multiple Gateway" option. I always can access remotly to my NAS which is a very good point, however the complete traffic from/to my NAS is passing by the VPN.. Not satisfying for me.
Another solution would be to setup my Asus routeur to use the VPN connection for the whole NAS device, same problem : the complete traffic from/to my NAS is passing by the VPN and in addition I cannot access my NAS remotly.

I tried to deal with firewall rules on my router to block everything for my NAS (except VPN connection ports, remote NAS port connection and TCP port on my torrent client (Download Station provide by Synology : port 16881) to force it to use its VPN interface but without success, I don't know how it is possible but IP torrent checker always shows my real IP address...