What's new

DNSmasq to provide DHCP IP # and DNS name for systems on LAN

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

GraniteStateColin

New Around Here
I am new to ASUS and Merlin, but I've used DD-WRT for years. If I SSH into the Asus router (RT-AX86U Pro), I see that I can add lines to dnsmasqconf in /etc or dnsmasq.conf.add like:

address=/<system name>/192.168.100.101

And that if I do that, then all systems on the LAN can access <system name> by name w/o needing to know the IP#. That's perfect and exactly what I want for things like printers and other devices that don't make their names visible on the network like Windows computers do.

However, back in DD-WRT, there was a way to do this via the GUI in a single step like in the screen shot below: enter MAC, name that should be accessible from the network, IP address to assign it via DHCP. That was it. Just enter those 3 bits of information per system and it was done.
1694641330783.png

Is there any way to do this on the Asus router? I entered the same info, but it only assigned DHCP, entering the Host Name field didn't seem to do anything:
1694641619896.png

The above does not resolve DNS requests. The DHCP part of DNSmasq works through the GUI, but apparently not the DNS part, at least not for me yet. Should this work in the Merlin/Asus firmware like it did in DD-WRT? If so, is there another setting I have to make, or maybe I'm putting this in the wrong place?

If the only option is to do it via the dnsmasq.conf file and not via the GUI, is there a single line that sets up both the DHCP and DNS at the same time, or will I always need both, like:
dhcp-host=9C:8E:##:##:##:##,set:9C:8E:##:##:##:##,hp_printer,192.168.XX.XX
address=/hp_printer/192.168.XX.XX