What's new

Hoping for advice on a small home network...

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

turnstyle

Regular Contributor
Hi all,

I'm no network expert, and am hoping for a bit of advice on my small home netork.

Right now I have mostly Mac and iOS clients on a wifi network, through a Netgear 802.11n router -- I switched to Mac about a year ago, was PC prior to that.

So I also have an old PC wired to the router via ethernet which I use as a home server, and I have two external USB drives attached to that PC. I back up over wifi to one of those drives, and then mirror one drive to the other. I'm generally happy with the setup.

I previously also used that PC/server for other tasks (for example, as a print server, or to run legacy PC software I no longer need) -- but now it's pretty much just a file server.

I'm thinking about getting a new ac wifi router, and I'd like to eliminate the PC from my setup -- and this is where I'm hoping for some advice.

For example, here's one scenario I'm considering:

1) Get ac wifi router with a USB3 port

2) Attach the USB3 port to a USB3 hub, and attach two USB3 drives to that -- I'm also thinking about using portable drives that draw power over USB (so perhaps a powered USB3 hub).

I forget the max reasonable speeds, but I think ac may outperform USB2 -- so I don't mind if USB3 is a modest extra cost -- and I like the idea of portable if I ever want to move the drive (say, from the router to my Mac).

Anyhow, I'd be gratful if anybody can help get me on the right track -- am I thinking in the right direction?

thanks kindly, -Scott

You won't get great speeds writing to a usb drive that is attached to a router. So what will be stored on those drives? What is the primary use?