What's new

Is NAS the right way to go?

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Richwz

Occasional Visitor
Hope you guys can give me some advice. I would like to setup a central depository for my family photos that is easily accessed from the internet so that my out-of-town kids can easily upload their photos to, download each others photos from, and be able to look at any of the photos at anytime. I would be "in charge" of backing up the depository and keeping it organised.
The internet part from my kids perspective would have to be as easy as possible. I am a complete newbie to all things NAS, but assuming NAS is the way to go on this, Synology or Qnap with WD red HDDs seem to be the general consensus best options that I can glean from the forum. My main concern would be the ease of use of the software, and reliability of the accessibilty from the internet which I can't find too much information on.

Media streaming is not a concern, so I am also wondering if Synology and/or Qnap might be overkill and something like WD, Seagate or other "Personal Clouds" would be adequate (and cheaper). Besides the above, I also want the NAS to be inactive (asleep) when not being accessed which would be most of the time, not sure if they all do this. Sorry for the long post, thanks in advance for reading and any advice. After selecting a unit, specific questions will surely follow ;)

I think the security issue of opening your firewall is not worth the risk for uploading away from home. Try dropbox it will be much less of a security risk. When you receive the pictures you can perform the upload from home. I think this would be the best way for a basic user.

Yes, one of those two NASes.