What's new

NAS questions

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Widkidone

New Around Here
I’m new to the NAS world. I have gone through the forums and I haven’t gotten an answer on some questions. I’m trying to see if I can have a localized home storage unit to back up files from multiple laptops.

1. Can a NAS back up files directly from a laptop without internet connection?

2. How do you choose between QNAP and Synology? Both look interesting.

3. How do you know how much storage you need? I was looking at a 4 bay with three 12TB drives. Would Raid 1 be the best way to go?

My priority is to back up important files from my main laptop to the NAS. I’m trying to reduce my dependence on cloud storage. Thank you in advance.

1) yes

2) QNAP and Synology are both good - QNAP is a bit more technical, Synology is more approachable - but at the end of the day, they serve the same needs with equal capability

3) storage needs - really depends - but to your comment about a 4 bay with 3 drives - no, don't do that - you'll need all bays filled.

How much space/capacity - it depends one the needs - some people have extensive media libraries, some source code repositories, some have a need to consolidate backups across different computers...

8tb drives are a good place - I recommend Seagate Ironwolf, but folks have their preferences...

One thing not to forget however, have a plan to back up the NAS itself - RAID, by it's very nature, increases the odds of failure because any single disk could fail at any time, and you're spreading your data across those disks.