What's new

New to NAS - Buying Advice for 4-Bay NAS

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Sohaib Najam

New Around Here
Hi everyone, I have been reading and researching a lot of NAS in the last couple of days and to be blunt, I'm not really good at this type of stuff when it comes to NAS technology, as that's really not my interest.

What I Want in a NAS:
-Be Mac Compatible i.e. Time Machine is a must
-Good Real world Read/Write Speeds
-Have remote access to it when I visit other countries
-Not Break the Wallet - Nothing over $1000.00 CAD whatsoever
-Simple Software; hence why I was looking into Synology
-Must be 4 Bay Minimum - Going to buy 2TB Hard drives x 4 in Raid 5 most likely - Most likely WD Green, can't afford 4 WD Reds yet.
-Reliability is a must, as I have stated above, I'm a complete novice when it comes to NAS

-Streaming: Not the end of the world for me, I don't mind just putting a movie on my USB and plugging it into lets say my Smart TV - Would prefer it if the feature is available and works fast enough for at least 720p streaming; and again doesn't break the bank, by buying something ridiculously expensive for a feature I might not use.

What I've Considered:
-Synology DS415Play -> heard it had poor Reads/Writes performance and isn't very good at streaming as well so not really considering it anymore
-Synology DS414+ ->People said it was quite a bit faster than the DS415Play
-Synology DS415+ -> Apparently some report having bad performance, others say it's good

-A Few QNAP ones, but got deterred from QNAP as it apparently does not have as easy to use or quite as polished Software compared to Synology; Unless you guys think that it is easy enough to use for my particular use case scenario.