What's new

OpenVPN - I can't get it to work...

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Bamsefar

So I have no experience of OpenVPN. And I am trying anyway.

Tried a few different guides on the web, have read what I can, even so I can not get my AC87 to answer any connection attempts. It's like it is blocked or not responding...

What I am trying to do: Connect with OpenVPN from my Android device (Sony Z3, with Lollipop 5.1) with latest (today) app installed. What I have done on the router, which is running RMerlin Firmware: 378:54_1 is just to enable OpenVPN server 1, and export the config file, which of course is loaded on my Android device without any problems. However connection to my router is not happening, I just get timeouts. Reading the log on my AC87 does not give any clues for me, since there are no lines when I try to connect...

Any ideas or any tips on a guide on the web that could help me and get this to work - it can't be this hard?

Last edited:
Btw. If I am using the "PPTP VPN Server" everything just works directly... So connecting seems to work, just not OpenVPN.

Here's how I set mine up (I have an AC87U and an android too)

Click on Open VPN Server 1 & turn it on
Add a user/password & Apply
Change from General to Advanced
I changed the VPN Subnet from 10.8.x.x to 192.168.10.x (seemed a good idea, as I use 192.168.x.x on my network)
I also enabled Username/Password authentication
Apply again
Export the config file to your phone
Import the config file into OpenVPN Connect, then click on Connect

You didn't say where you are - "at home", or "out & about"

If you're out & about and trying to connect over 3g or someone else's wifi - it should connect ok