What's new

Setting up VPN server (router?) for offsite access

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

gdgross

New Around Here
Hi all, found this forum, seems helpful to newbs like me - I'm a semi tech-y fellow here but not much in the way of IT things, although I'm learning.

I'd like to set up a way to access and log into my mac-mini, which is at home, from anywhere on the internet. Currently I can do this via the splashtop app, but for various reasons, I would like to set up my own system. I understand that this will require creating a VPN server for my LAN, and maybe some additional hardware purchases. (specifically a dedicated VPN router, which i understand is a specific piece of hardware, that may or may not house a vpn server?)

I'd like to be able to log in from a windows machine on a different wired network miles away from the mac mini and its LAN, using sonic wall or the windows built in VPN client, and control the mac mini via microsoft remote desktop, or similar software. I'd also like to be able to log in from my macbook pro laptop, using the same or similar tools from any old wireless network at starbucks or wherever.

My current home network looks like this (not counting a few additional wifi nodes that aren't shown for clarity)
53615077699_4fdb348c0f_b.jpg

As I understand it, hardware wise, I will need to do something like this:
53615077694_ae7c708c48_b.jpg

First, is my understanding of the hardware correct?

Second, I will need to set up a VPN server, yes? Is this something that lives on the VPN router? Or can it be installed on either NAS (QNAP-TS453) or the mac mini itself?