What's new

378.56 - Restarts & Unable to Downgrade

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Lazy

New Around Here
I bought the RT-AC66U off of ebay. The first thing I did was upgrade it to the latest Merlin & factory reset it so I have no knowledge on the router's prior abilities.

The router restarts on its own every 10 minutes... I thought maybe there was a bug in the firmware so I tried to downgrade it to the latest ASUS firmware and cannot. I see the upload progress bar showing that it is applying settings, etc... and then suddenly it'll go back to the login screen with Merlin still installed.

Overall I'm confused where to even begin with troubleshooting if it's hardware, etc. What logs or steps would be the starting point?

I bought the RT-AC66U off of ebay. The first thing I did was upgrade it to the latest Merlin & factory reset it so I have no knowledge on the router's prior abilities.

The router restarts on its own every 10 minutes... I thought maybe there was a bug in the firmware so I tried to downgrade it to the latest ASUS firmware and cannot. I see the upload progress bar showing that it is applying settings, etc... and then suddenly it'll go back to the login screen with Merlin still installed.

Overall I'm confused where to even begin with troubleshooting if it's hardware, etc. What logs or steps would be the starting point?
Try the following (courtesy of RMerlin):

1) Unplug the power, then turn the router on to drain any residual power. Give it 10 seconds, turn it off, then plug it back in.
2) Turn it on with the reset button pressed, to enter Firmware Recovery mode. Power should now be flashing slowly