1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

AiMesh - which second router? vs Competition?

Discussion in 'ASUSWRT - Official' started by adambean, Mar 10, 2018.

  1. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    I have a 100/10 internet connection When you all mention speed, are you talking about WAN or LAN?

    Overall I'm definitely more interested in reliable and stable connectivity.

    Any other votes for dual AC5300's vs Lyra?

    Thanks all
     
  2. Vincent Wong

    Vincent Wong Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    You don’t get it. I said DHCP is not supposed to function when you are in repeater mode but when you plug in a wired backhaul into the repeater there is a dhcp conflict my ac5300 ip sometimes gets taken over (192.168.1.1) and the modem goes offline.

    Look at the image again. There is no other configuration menu available to look for the dhcp option.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. Vincent Wong

    Vincent Wong Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    You do realize we are talking about wireless lan speed. N vs AC vs Gigabit Lan. Your clients on WiFi can’t get as fast a connection as fast as your wired connection.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    That was my question, WAN or LAN. I'll look further into reviews in regards to performance.

    Still can't find a clear cut reason to why NOT dual AC5300'S. Basically the same price and I'd be getting the ROG version as the primary.
     
  5. dlandiss

    dlandiss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    I don't know what else to tell you. It is my understanding that what we call a "router" really has three functions:

    1) The real "router" uses NAT to "route" data to other local IP Address, assigned either by DHCP or manually, and

    2) It provides an Ethernet switch usually with 4 or 8 physical ports for wired connections, and

    3) It includes a built-in wireless Access Point (also known as Wi-Fi) that can use those same data streams.

    By definition neither a Repeater nor an Access Point uses DHCP--that function is reserved for the real router described in step 1). And, on my RT-AC68U using John's Fork firmware, that operation is described ("NAT functions are disabled") on the configuration screens. Perhaps you would be happier with either Merlin or John's Fork firmware, as they do provide better explanations to the user.

    Shot0003.png
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2018
  6. dlandiss

    dlandiss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Just noticed one more thing--I think Repeater Mode is intended for wireless operation only. For wired connections use an Access Point instead (plus it will be twice as fast).
     
  7. dlandiss

    dlandiss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
  8. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    So, Lyra will soon support AiMesh right? So would AC5300+Lyra be a better choice than dual 5300's?
     
  9. Vincent Wong

    Vincent Wong Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    WLAN is the correct term referring to wireless LAN. WAN = wide area network, that requires a modem to the ISP fiber network or cable.

    WLAN speeds gets lower as you go further away from the AP. N has a lower throughput but wider distance. AC has a higher throughput speed but typically half the distance of N in a nutshell.

    If you already have a AC5300 buying another ac5300 is good. If you are looking for stability and has nothing yet. Going for a straight mesh setup is better. Buy a ac5300 + Lyra doesn’t work yet as Lyra cannot be added as aimesh node to ac5300 yet.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    @Vincent Wong, you say another AC5300 is good, but Lyra is better... Even though it has worse performance. Not sure I'm following ya.

    Wouldn't dual 5300's with Smart Connect over AiMesh be the all around most feature rich option? Or is the hesitation just with AiMesh simply not being that good?

    Also, Lyra is supposed to support AiMesh soon meaning it could join a 5300 right?
     
  11. Vincent Wong

    Vincent Wong Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Thank you for your clarifications. I have always wondered what is the key difference between repeater and an AP.
    Looks like if you intend to plug in a wired backhaul then use AP mode. (Next question is from the main router Ethernet cable where do you plug the cable into on the AP? Is it the WAN port on the AP when coming from the switch port?)


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  12. Vincent Wong

    Vincent Wong Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Let me be crystal clear.

    If you have already an AC5300 in use buying another AC5300 will work just fine.

    The Lyra is meant for people who are not bothered about having the best performance as the hardware specifications is lower than an AC5300; at present Lyra is meant to be deployed as a complete Lyra system not meant to be added to the ASUS router AIMesh system hence any ASUS router will not be able to see the Lyra as an aimesh node.

    Lyra is plug and play very simple and uncomplicated.

    At the present there is no timeline given to allow other routers to recognize Lyra. I believe if ASUS had intended for Lyra to be used as an aimesh node it would have allowed aimesh latest firmware to recognize it from the start.




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  13. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Gotcha, so given the options, you'd opt for the dual 5300's then I'm assuming?
     
  14. Vincent Wong

    Vincent Wong Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Yes. But if it is just acting as a node. A lower model would also do.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  15. Vincent Wong

    Vincent Wong Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    26
  16. arthurlien

    arthurlien Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2014
    Messages:
    615
    How do you know that ? just guest or ...?:)
     
  17. Vincent Wong

    Vincent Wong Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    I am making an educated guess based on:

    1) all the Aimesh capable routers advertisements and webpage makes no mention of Lyra or even list in the supported devices list Lyra.

    2) Lyra has its own microsite that focus on various Lyra models. Lyra Trio, Lyra Mini and Lyra itself.

    3) it does barely mention compatible to other routers I believe that meant configuring the Lyra as an AP. But clearly not detected as an aimesh device.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  18. dlandiss

    dlandiss Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2013
    Messages:
    439
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    Correct.

    All of the ASUS routers that I have used make all 5 ports the same in AP mode. I use the (formerly) WAN port (blue on my model) just to make it easier to identify cables during troubleshooting.
     
    Vincent Wong likes this.
  19. PaulKemp

    PaulKemp Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    I see you reccomend this, and it is intriguing. With these steps, I could continue using my RT-N66U. Since the routing on that device still works well. Added bonus, it is already setup.
     
    Im your Friend likes this.
  20. adambean

    adambean Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    61
    Got the GT-AC5300 and setup AiMesh.

    So far, a bit disappointed. Damn near all connections are going to the GT vs. the RT, which is odd because the RT is in a more ideal location for more than half of my WiFi devices.

    Further, there's no (unless I'm missing it?) detailed configuration to put priorities on devices.

    Not sure I'm going to keep this. Now debating Lyra or Velop again.