1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Another new router entry on the FCC: GT-AC9600

Discussion in 'ASUS AC Routers & Adapters' started by RMerlin, May 1, 2017.

  1. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    29,849
    Location:
    Canada
    Not as many details for this one, beside what looks to be an extremely odd shape:

    https://fccid.io/MSQ-RTG03H

    According to the GPL code currently out:

    - Alpine CPU
    - Quantenna QSR10G
    - Aquantia AQR107
    - RGB/Aura lighting
    - M2 SSD support

    (edit: added Aura and M2)
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2017
    netmik3 likes this.
  2. hggomes

    hggomes Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    They didn't forgot to remove the unit pictures this times as in RT-AC86 model, which is a pitty. :)

    The Alpine CPU model on RT-AC9600 is AL5140 (Quad Core) 1.7GHZ, the network switch is a 5 port AQR107 (10GBiT) plus a Realtek 4 port switch Realtek (Gigabit), which is quite weird.

    So, 1x WAN + 4x LAN 10gbit + 4x LAN 1gbit.

    Wireless chipset QSR10G is entirely Quantenna inside for both radios 2G and 5G.

    For delite of many the M.2 SSD availability is also present on RT-AC9600, just like RT-AC828 business model.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2017
  3. VANT

    VANT Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Messages:
    740
    Location:
    Poland
    I do not believe it's a joke?
    or maybe
    it's router for children ?
     
  4. hggomes

    hggomes Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
  5. lilstone87

    lilstone87 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2012
    Messages:
    276
    So does the GT stand for something like Gaming/Gamers Tech? Just has me wondering if Asus is planning to make multiple router's with gaming in mind. So i wanted to ask about this, since i think it's a good question.
     
  6. hggomes

    hggomes Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    GT - Gaming
    RT - Router
    BRT - Business Router
     
  7. hackintoshsr

    hackintoshsr Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    115
    ugh Quantenna again?.... Not sure if I will jump on that wagon again
     
    netmik3 and sentinelvdx like this.
  8. hggomes

    hggomes Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    My suggestion if in doubt is not get it until you see it on the market for a while and have some feedback.

    I totally support your toughts. :rolleyes:
     
  9. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    29,849
    Location:
    Canada
    Their 2017 motherboards also support Aura.

    Gamers like customizability - it sells.

    Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk
     
  10. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    29,849
    Location:
    Canada
    And I'd say that WL- is "Wireless Legacy", but don't tell that to themiron ;)
     
    sfx2000 and hggomes like this.
  11. hggomes

    hggomes Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    I promise. :D
     
  12. sfx2000

    sfx2000 Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    13,944
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Ticket buys the whole seat, but you'll only need the edge :D

    Hardware should be fine - software might be a challenge...
     
  13. maylyn

    maylyn Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    The more horsepower the merrier :D

    Does anyone start to see that router design is getting more and more like ASUS motherboard design by incorporating M.2 SSD slot, ASUS AURA. How about Intel ThunderBolt 3? USB 3.1 Type A/C etc? :D
     
    Clark Griswald, cybrnook and hggomes like this.
  14. hggomes

    hggomes Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Why not? :D
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2017
  15. hggomes

    hggomes Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    @RMerlin it's RT-AC9600 not GT-AC9600.
     
  16. Pierino

    Pierino Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2012
    Messages:
    868
    Location:
    Columbus Ohio
    The picture of the label says gt-ac9600
     
  17. hggomes

    hggomes Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    That's weird, all places I see says RT- including the GPL.

    But yeah the label doesn't lie, Gaming Router GT-AC9600, they should will fix the GPL at some point.
     
  18. System Error Message

    System Error Message Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    4,078
    so it has 10Gb/s ports LAN but only 1Gb/s WAN? How do the 4Gb/s ports connect to the 10Gb/s ports? Is it through the CPU via 1Gb/s.

    I really hope they dont get the internal design silly again with 10Gb/s interface but only 1Gb/s pipe to it.

    I already have 10Gb/s but it is 10Gb/s to the CPU too so i can have my file server be 10Gb/s and use LACP to make use of as much bandwidth as possible using multiple 1Gb/s.
     
  19. hggomes

    hggomes Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    No, 5x 10Gbit ports (WAN included) + 4x 1GBIT ports.
     
  20. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    29,849
    Location:
    Canada
    Marketing and R&D don't always align, until the actual product launch. Remember the RT-AC68U V2, it only got renamed RT-AC66U_B1 near launch time.

    Likewise, the RT-AC5300R got renamed to GT-AC5300 right before the actual product launch.

    There's nowhere in the code stating that, and in fact some information I had from other sources are telling me this is NOT the actual configuration.