1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

ASUS Blue Cave AC2600 Dual-Band Wireless Router Reviewed

Discussion in 'Wireless Article Discussions' started by thiggins, Apr 10, 2018.

  1. ricky124

    ricky124 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Cyn, I just looked it up and I have not used it and I am unlikely to use this. If it’s a setting on the router, I am happy to try it, just let me know how to do it. If it requires installations, I’ll pass.
     
  2. Cyn

    Cyn Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Actually, what I mean is plugin in a USB thumbdrive. Then router admin page and for USB Application -> Media Server -> Samba just check if your drive appears.
     
  3. DH32

    DH32 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Got one over BF too. Been using it for a week or so, and it feels like it's not as good as my AC1950, especially when connected at 2.4.

    Can you guys check your config and see if you have any entry on MU-MIMO under wireless/professional? Also, is the Smart Connect rules available on this thing? Thanks.
     
  4. Cyn

    Cyn Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Smart Connect option is available for me, MU-MIMO they have said its there but I couldn't find it to switch on or off.
     
  5. DH32

    DH32 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks. As for Smart Connect, not just the on/off option, do you see the Smart Connect rules in network tools? I think some of the other routers have that so that you can modify the "smartness."
     
  6. Cyn

    Cyn Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    No, just the Smart Connect on/off option for me.
     
  7. DH32

    DH32 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2018
    Messages:
    6
    Ok. Just want to make sure - I've resetted twice. LOL.
     
  8. Cyn

    Cyn Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    I think its one of those hiccups for having the Intel chipset in this and Asus team not updating properly. MU-MIMO is no where in the settings but they say its there.
     
  9. ricky124

    ricky124 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    It appears under Network Map int he Asus Router settings page.
    upload_2018-12-1_21-39-12.png

    In the Samba area I see the following:
    I would say Samba does not work right now in my network. Are there any other settings I need to change?
    upload_2018-12-1_21-45-9.png

    Look at this page as it may provide more insights as to how to get Samba working. I just found a Samba Setting under AiCloud 2.0. Is this what you want?
    https://www.asus.com/support/FAQ/1037477/

    Is this even worth the hassle to set up? I have one PC, 2 iphones, one printer, one roku, two smart speakers and one tablet we rarely use.

    Update: I just removed the USB flash drive and it was warm going on hot and I was not even writing on it. I would say it's better to go with a NAS if you want to use storage devices.
     
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2018
  10. ricky124

    ricky124 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    What settings do I need under AiProtection -> Network Protection. Should I just turn on Enabled AiProtection and let it be?

    Also, I don't see anything for Smart Connect under Wireless -> Professional. As for MU-mimo, I am not sure how to verify that it is indeed working. I have three mu-mimo devices but I am not sure it's doing anything. According to some folks on this website, MU-MIMO is like unfulfilled prophecy and does not do much but if this is wrong, at least my router supports (even though I can't verify it, hehe).
     
  11. Cyn

    Cyn Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    I just noticed its enabled on my end. I didn't even notice. I disabled the QoS though, it just slows down usual usage such as social media when there is no streaming going on.

    Thats what I have been hearing as well, I am not a fan of smart connect, just find it easier to separate the bands and use it that way.
     
    username0475 likes this.
  12. Cyn

    Cyn Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    That Samba is already set up, its just that Router is not enabling the feature properly. Just few glitches of the firmware I guess.
     
  13. ricky124

    ricky124 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    It sounds like you need to spend some more money or go with something like the R6700 by Netgear which all around solid but doesn’t have the best/more updated technology. File sharing is not a priority for me as I do everything in the Apple or Microsoft cloud and share from there but even then there is not much I share. You may want to try the Rt-ac86u and you can keep on building your network. The Rt-ac86u was my first choice but my mind couldn’t justify the price.
     
  14. Cyn

    Cyn Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    I actually got the same exact model of Netgear and returned it because I got the Blue Cave. I'm trying to setup the Time Machine with my Mac so I could backup wirelessly but I feel like I should just use this for a year since I got this for roughly $70 with taxes from Google Express during the BF Sale(20% for being the first order then Google Express gave me $10 coupon). This surely beats the entry level routers at the same price point. :D

    I'm going to use this for a year or till next Black Friday and see how it performs, at that point I could even save up and upgrade to a Ubiquiti.

    Did you check the pages on the AiProtection section? I saw some attacks which were detected by the Router.
     
  15. ricky124

    ricky124 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Nice Price! I just bought it directly through Best Buy. I am not sure if the return policies on Google Express are the same but with Best Buy, I have until early January to return the item due to the holiday season. I'll post if anything is amiss with the router but so far, I am setting it and forgetting it. With respect to the AiProtection, I just turned it on; although I believe it's a first level or preliminary security, I am not sure it will replace anti-virus software.
     
  16. Cyn

    Cyn Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    Actually its the same as Best Buy, Google Express just acts as a store front for retailers like Best Buy. So the return policy is for the store, which is Best Buy, I even got the receipt and can return to Best Buy local if I'm not okay with this. Its the same for me as well, hopefully that would be enough time to get a proper idea on how this performs. AiProtection helps because I'm not running any antivirus on the Mac.
     
  17. ricky124

    ricky124 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    Next time I will know. Thank you.
     
  18. Cyn

    Cyn Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    36
    This is new, I contacted Asus support and mentioned about the heating. The agent said to return it and get a replacement as it could be defective.
    "I just want to verify if you have just purchase the router? If yes the best recommendation I can give you is to contact your place of purchase to initiate a return or replacement as the issue might be a hardware issue with the unit."

    I noticed the 2.4GHz seems to get disconnected couple of times, 5GHz is quite stable.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2018
  19. ricky124

    ricky124 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2018
    Messages:
    26
    I have had no disconnections this far and the router has been rather stable. Let me know if you replace the router and with which one, maybe I’ll try that one too but so far so good on this one.
     
  20. jjackson

    jjackson New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Using a Valet M10 bought about 15 yrs ago for 25 bucks, lol. Rock solid, streams netflix 2 floors up w/o hiccup, disconnects once every 5 or 6 months, reboot good for another 6 months.

    LOL not even sure why I am looking for another router; don't need problems