1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

ASUS rt-ac86u Merlin 384.11_2 settings advice ?

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by galactus, May 26, 2019.

1. galactus

galactus Occasional Visitor

Hello, I am a novice internet user/gamer and I am experiencing some issues with my upload/download speeds, especially with the upload speeds. I have experimented with some options and managed to get speeds ranging from; (60mbs/dwn & 6mbs/up) , (150mbs/dwn & 7mbs/up) , (180mbs/dwn & 8mbs/up) but I've never managed to get a full 12mbs upload to my ps4 and still get lag and jittering even when I managed to get 180dwn & 8up which was a week ago, today ive been getting 10mbs/dwn and 3mbs/up maybe this is a temporary hick up or throttling. But anyways I am wondering if perhaps I can optimise my RT-AC86U Merlin settings.

First i'll tell you about my setup and usage before the Merlin settings which is what I am here asking for advice on. I am on a Virgin media vivid 200 package (200mbps/dwn & 12mps/up), connected via; Rg6 coaxial 10m (VM default) > VM home hub 3 (Modem mode) > CAT7 1m ethernet (vandesail) > ASUS rt-ac86u > CAT7 20m ethernet (vandesail) > PS4 PRO > BenQ Zowie RL2455 1ms Monitor.
    In our 2 storey home we have 1-8 devices connected at any one time;(ps4 pro Lan, amazon fire stick 2.4ghz, 3 mobiles 5ghz, 3 laptops 2,4ghz) and we are surrounded by other peoples networks. When im in full stream mode I tend to have only the ps4 connected as much as possible.