What's new

Asus XT8s and powerline backhaul

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Mad Mesh

New Around Here
Hello all from a forum newbie

I have four XT8s in a home mesh network and am looking at wiring the backhaul of some or all of them using TP-Link TL-PA8010P/30P (1-port and 3-port) powerline adapters. I know the general feeling is that this is risky, but if I set up the units to use ethernet when it's available and wifi otherwise, the network isn't at risk of crashing if the PLAs fail.
I'm a complete beginner at ethernet, so please excuse possibly dumb questions, but I would greatly appreciate some advice on how to use the PLAs in an ethernet setup for backhaul. The only reference to daisy-chaining I can find for backhaul with XT8s is to connect a LAN port of one unit to the WAN port of the next unit down the line, and so on. My confusion is how to implement this with PLAs. Do I have to use a separate pair of PLAs with their own networks to create each daisy-chain link? I was hoping for a simpler solution: connecting the router LAN port to a PLA, and then connecting each of the other units' WAN ports to its own PLA, all on the same PLA network. Any clarification greatfully received.

The user manual says you can have 1 main PLA and more node PLAs.

Screenshot 2021-10-12 002225.png

Welcome to the forums @Mad Mesh.

What is the cost of those PLAs? What would the cost be to wire them up properly (Cat5e or better)?

Depending on your ISP speeds, the size of your home, and the quality of the PLAs used, you can expect to see a huge detriment to your current environment.