What's new

CAT5e still shows 10/100...

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

koonthul

Occasional Visitor
Hello all - thanks in advance for the help. I'm a beginner, so go easy. I've done a lot of research and need guidance on next steps in order to solve my problem as I'm not sure what to do next.

Problem:

I'm trying to run a simple CAT5e cable from my router to an endpoint (laptop with wired connection) and get Gigabit speeds. Can't seem to get it to register at 1 gigabit though, only says 10/100 (in windows). Trying to figure out what to do next.

Some more information:

1. The cable i'm using is an old Belkin cable and it's labeled for 5e on its side. I cut it in half and then terminated both ends MYSELF to verify all 4 twisted pairs are tight with no gaps between the cable and termination. My cable tester (although cheap) registers all 8 wires as connecting properly on both ends. Cable tester does not test for speed or anything else. That all checks out so i'm pretty sure my terminations with RJ45 plugs (3 prong) using the T568B standard are good. 1 half of it registers gigabit, so I don't THINK the cable is the issue. Here's what the side of the cable has printed on it...

E158012 Verified (UL) & (ETL) CMR Category 5E 350 MHZ TO TIA/EIA-568B . 2 24 AWG 4 UTP C(UL) 06728FT

2. The original cable itself was too long, so I cut it in half as I only needed about 50 feet or so. As a test, I took the other half (longer) of the cable that I didn't run, terminated both ends and tested it between router and end point. REGISTERS 1 GIGABIT just fine. :mad: