Custom firmware build for R7800 v. 1.0.2.34SF

Voxel

Very Senior Member
Continuation of

https://www.snbforums.com/threads/custom-firmware-build-for-r7800.36859/
https://www.snbforums.com/threads/custom-firmware-build-for-r7800-v-1-0-2-22sf.37222/
https://www.snbforums.com/threads/custom-firmware-build-for-r7800-v-1-0-2-23sf-v-1-0-2-24sf.37477/
https://www.snbforums.com/threads/custom-firmware-build-for-r7800-v-1-0-2-25sf-v-1-0-2-29sf.38032/
https://www.snbforums.com/threads/custom-firmware-build-for-r7800-v-1-0-2-30sf.38366/
https://www.snbforums.com/threads/custom-firmware-build-for-r7800-v-1-0-2-31sf.39142/
https://www.snbforums.com/threads/custom-firmware-build-for-r7800-v-1-0-2-32sf.39657/
https://www.snbforums.com/threads/custom-firmware-build-for-r7800-v-1-0-2-33sf.40198/

New version of my custom firmware build: 1.0.2.34SF.

Changes (vs 1.0.2.33SF):

1. sqlite package is upgraded 3190200->3190300.
2. uci package is upgraded 2016-07-04->2017-04-12.
3. confuse package is upgraded 3.0->3.2.
4. curl package is upraded 7.29.0->7.54.1.
5. expat package is upgraded 2.2.0->2.2.2
6. bridge-utils package is upgraded 1.5->1.6.
7. libsodium package is upgraded 1.0.12->1.0.13.
8. dnscrypt-resolvers.csv is updated.
9. Host tools: two components are upgraded to most recent versions.
10. Changes from stock 1.0.2.32 are integrated to this release.
11. Default congestion control algorithm is set to "cubic" (unification with R9000).
12. /etc/init.d/optware script is removed (unification with R9000, see entware-cortex-a15-3x-initial.tar.gz, i.e. how to start Entware services).
13. Some other changes.

The link is:

http://www.voxel-firmware.com

No reset is needed to upgrade from my previous versions.


Voxel.
 
Last edited:

e38BimmerFN

Very Senior Member
Hi Voxel. Thank you for the new update. I have it loaded. Up from v30SF. That seemed like a good version too.

Quick question. I see that you posted QoS DB folder as well and is from June. Is this the same DB that appears in QoS? Mine says APR 2017. Can I use your QoS file to update my router? Please give details on how this is done. I see 4 files with in the zip file. Not sure how these are applied.

Thank you.
 

avtella

Very Senior Member
The June one is from 2016, I think posted that for people like Ulaganath who had issues with the new 4.0 Database.
 

e38BimmerFN

Very Senior Member
Ah ok, didn't look at the date closer, thank you.

I presume any QoS data base updates still come directly from NG?
 

Voxel

Very Senior Member
The June one is from 2016, I think posted that for people like Ulaganath who had issues with the new 4.0 Database.
Yes, it was posted exactly for Ulaganath (old QoS DB). My build has latest QoS included.

Voxel.
 

Voxel

Very Senior Member
Hi @Voxel, thanks for the update. Can you tell me if your firmware supports NAT hairpinning / loopback?
As far as I remember, it worked, I do not remember problems with it. Should be the same as with stock. It is difficult for me to test right now, because I use a bit complicated scheme with double/triple NAT to access both R7800 and R9000 remotely.

Voxel.
 

atom

New Around Here
As far as I remember, it worked, I do not remember problems with it. Should be the same as with stock. It is difficult for me to test right now, because I use a bit complicated scheme with double/triple NAT to access both R7800 and R9000 remotely.

Voxel.
Thanks for response. Unfortunately, NAT loopback isn't working for me. Is there a special configuration option to enable this feature? On a related note I have a ticket open Netgear on this subject. This was their response:

...the R7800 should support NAT loopback as what you will see on this link:

https://community.netgear.com/t5/Ge...outer-that-supports-NAT-Loopback/td-p/1103147

However, we received several behavioral problems about NAT loopback and currently checking with engineering as of this moment. We are still awaiting for their feedback.
EDIT: I guess support has answered my question:

...NAT loopback should be enabled by default on the router without needing to enable or configure any setting on the router Andrew.

We are checking with engineering team right now to see what the problem is since some of our customers are reporting that NAT loopback is not working properly.

I already sent a follow up email regarding this problem and hopefully, I can get a feedback tomorrow.
 
Last edited:

e38BimmerFN

Very Senior Member
Voxel, thanks for the info about the QoS DB. I understand how you do it.

Quick question, do you know what NAT type(s) are in the FW? Symmetric and or Full Cone NAT? Other?
 

bodean

Very Senior Member
Thanks for response. Unfortunately, NAT loopback isn't working for me. Is there a special configuration option to enable this feature? On a related note I have a ticket open Netgear on this subject. This was their response:



EDIT: I guess support has answered my question:
So this Nat loop back issue is with THIS FW or the netgear official fw?
 

e38BimmerFN

Very Senior Member
Thank you. I believe this is the reason why two game consoles playing the same game at the same time gets OPEN NAT across the board. Routers with out Full Cone or Symmetric NAT only can't do this. :(
 

eliz82

Occasional Visitor
AFAIR NAT loopback at least partially works. I did not do intensive testing, but such stuffs as ports forwarding from LAN to WAN IP are OK.
also port forwarding from WAN to the router itself works with this small change router GUI files
https://www.snbforums.com/threads/custom-firmware-build-for-r7800-v-1-0-2-22sf.37222/#post-305445
After this change you can port forward to 192.168.1.1 from the port forward GUI.
Some other firmware like Asus Merlin or DD-WRT already support this future.
 

eliz82

Occasional Visitor
12. /etc/init.d/optware script is removed (unification with R9000, see entware-cortex-a15-3x-initial.tar.gz, i.e. how to start Entware services).
can you detail more what you mean by "how to start Entware services"
in 1.0.2.33SF i use "/opt/etc/init.d/rc.func" to manually start/stop entware services.
i guess the automated starting is performed by "/etc/init.d/optware" and "/opt/etc/init.d/rc.unslung"

let's say we have a service script like this one:
https://www.hqt.ro/nginx-web-server-with-php-support-through-entware/#comment-3097961339

so do we need to change anything in our services scripts?
 

Voxel

Very Senior Member
can you detail more what you mean by "how to start Entware services"
in 1.0.2.33SF i use "/opt/etc/init.d/rc.func" to manually start/stop entware services.
i guess the automated starting is performed by "/etc/init.d/optware" and "/opt/etc/init.d/rc.unslung"

let's say we have a service script like this one:
https://www.hqt.ro/nginx-web-server-with-php-support-through-entware/#comment-3097961339

so do we need to change anything in our services scripts?
I've removed /etc/init.d/optware init script and all Entware-specific stuffs are moved to autorun/scripts/post-mount.sh in updated archive:

http://ownweb.eu/Downloads/Voxel/Entware/entware-cortex-a15-3x-initial.tar.gz

You can download it and check what is changed. It is not because of get rid of Entware, but unification with R9000. I have to provide the same Entware for all R7500/R7800 and for R9000. The last required some specific changes, when /etc/init.d/optware did not work. So it is why such changes.

It works now with R7800 and with R9000.

Voxel.
 

Razor512

Senior Member
With this firmware, is anyone experiencing slow write speeds over eSATA based storage (NTFS formatted drive)? (Read speeds in the 90MB/s+ range, but writes are in the 20-30MB/s range).
 

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top