1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Custom firmware build for R7800 v. 1.0.2.60SF

Discussion in 'NETGEAR AC Wireless' started by Voxel, Sep 11, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,253
    Congratulations ;-)

    It is in my note for 1.0.2.59SF. Just create your own file

    /root/.profile

    which sets your PATH.

    Code:
    export PATH=/opt/bin:/opt/sbin:/bin:/sbin:/usr/bin:/usr/sbin
    

    Voxel.
     
  2. routine

    routine Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    I noticed spikes in online gaming also...
     
  3. routine

    routine Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    is there any chance of having LEDE, maybe in the future, with proprietary drivers ???
     
  4. SwampKracker

    SwampKracker Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    127
    Try going to the OpenWRT forums and ask your question. Unless someone here contributes to the OpenWRT project, you probably won't get any answers.

    FYI - LEDE does not exist anymore.

    Announcing the OpenWrt/LEDE merge
    As of January 2018, both the OpenWrt and LEDE projects agreed to re-merge back under the OpenWrt name.
     
    Kal-EL and kamoj like this.
  5. routine

    routine Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    I cant't install linux on imac now.. Is it possible to activate ssh without using the usb key?
     
  6. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,253
    It is not clear what for to install linux. If you need ssh on your R7800 it is possible to set up ssh access using the router itself (see Appendix A in my README).

    And telnet to router is working BTW for some minor changes w/o ssh...

    Voxel.
     
  7. routine

    routine Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    I did some tests. and the spikes seem to be due to the automatic search for wireless networks. but the bufferbloat in the tests remains..
    I must use linux to format the usb key with ext2/3/4..
    Would not it be easier to publish images of firmware with ssh activated? :D
     
  8. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,253
    You can do that from router console entering by telnet to your R7800.

    SSH is working immediately after flashing. W/o any activation. Even if you do not use it. It is not "activation" but your own key to to enter to the router by SSH. Your own key and nobody else could enter w/o your key.

    Voxel.
     
  9. randytsuch

    randytsuch Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    You can check out my wiki
    https://sites.google.com/view/netgearr7800/home

    I mostly use an older macbook at home, so it covers setup including ssh on a pc and a mac.
    mac requires use of their built in terminal program, but you can cut and paste from the wiki for most things.
    The most complicated thing was installing telnet, but cut and paste one line at a time and should work fine.

    You also need some type of storage device plugged into the router, can be anything as long as the router can read/write it.

    Randy
     
    spocko likes this.
  10. vladlenas

    vladlenas Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Who is at a loss to create and install authorization key.
    Via telnet
    type password for root and press Enter key, then retype password and press Enter key.
    Then
    type i and remove -s in this line
    then press Esc and write changes using :wq
    Then
    Now you can connect via ssh, using the root password and without authorization key.
    You can also change the port
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2018
    spocko, billygoat, Voxel and 2 others like this.
  11. kamoj

    kamoj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    377
    should be
    Code:
    /etc/init.d/dropbear restart
     
    vladlenas likes this.
  12. vladlenas

    vladlenas Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Messages:
    25
    Of course, my mistake.
    Thank you. :)
     
  13. Steve P

    Steve P New Around Here

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Hi Voxel,
    I read on one of your previous threads that you recommended to erase the overlay_volume partition to avoid possible conflicts with other firmware using this sequence:


    1) enable telnet: http://191.168.1.1/debug.htm
    2) telnet to your router IP
    3) format overlay partition running the command from telnet:
    mtd erase overlay_volume
    4) hard reset

    When I do this I receive the following error code:
    Could not open mtd device: overlay_volume

    Here is a copy and paste from my telnet session
    >>
    === LOGIN ===============================
    Please enter your password,It's the same
    with DUT login password
    ------------------------------------------
    telnet password:*******
    === IMPORTANT ============================
    Use 'passwd' to set your login password
    this will disable telnet and enable SSH
    ------------------------------------------
    BusyBox v1.4.2 (2018-09-10 09:49:39 UTC) Built-in shell (ash)
    Enter 'help' for a list of built-in commands.

    [email protected]:/$
    [email protected]:/$ cat /proc/mtd
    dev: size erasesize name
    mtd0: 00c80000 00020000 "qcadata"
    mtd1: 00500000 00020000 "APPSBL"
    mtd2: 00080000 00020000 "APPSBLENV"
    mtd3: 00140000 00020000 "ART"
    mtd4: 00140000 00020000 "ART.bak"
    mtd5: 00220000 00020000 "kernel"
    mtd6: 01de0000 00020000 "rootfs"
    mtd7: 04480000 00020000 "netgear"
    mtd8: 02000000 00020000 "firmware"
    mtd9: 00080000 00020000 "crashdump"
    mtd10: 00380000 00020000 "language"
    mtd11: 00120000 00020000 "config"
    mtd12: 00120000 00020000 "pot"
    mtd13: 00010000 00001000 "m25p80"
    mtd14: 0001f000 0001f000 "cert"
    mtd15: 0005d000 0001f000 "pot.bak"
    mtd16: 001b2000 0001f000 "traffic_meter"
    mtd17: 001b2000 0001f000 "traffic_meter.bak"
    mtd18: 001b2000 0001f000 "dongle"
    mtd19: 037b4000 0001f000 "overlay_volume"
    [email protected]:/$
    [email protected]:/$ mtdinfo /dev/mtd19
    mtd19
    Name: overlay_volume
    Type: ubi
    Eraseblock size: 126976 bytes, 124.0 KiB
    Amount of eraseblocks: 460 (58408960 bytes, 55.7 MiB)
    Minimum input/output unit size: 2048 bytes
    Sub-page size: 2048 bytes
    Character device major/minor: 90:38
    Bad blocks are allowed: false
    Device is writable: true
    [email protected]:/$
    [email protected]:/$ mtd erase /dev/mtd19
    Could not open mtd device: /dev/mtd19
    Could not open mtd device: /dev/mtd19
    [email protected]:/$
    [email protected]:/$ mtd erase overlay_volume
    Could not open mtd device: overlay_volume
    Could not open mtd device: overlay_volume
    [email protected]:/$
    [email protected]:/$
    <<
    Any ideas why this does not work?
    Thanks,
    Steve
     
    rbird2 and vladlenas like this.
  14. routine

    routine Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2018
    Messages:
    33
    Done! I made key on /tmp and copied on usb key with NTFS system that works also... Copied on mac with readyshare.
    ssh -i id_rsa [email protected]

    @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

    @ WARNING: UNPROTECTED PRIVATE KEY FILE! @

    @@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

    Permissions 0777 for 'id_rsa' are too open.

    It is required that your private key files are NOT accessible by others.

    This private key will be ignored.

    Load key "id_rsa": bad permissions

    [email protected]: Permission denied (publickey).
    chmod 0600 id_rsa

    and now everything is ok .. a bit cumbersome maybe not even worth it.
    it would be enough to log in with the disabled keys ..


    however the bufferbloat is improved by setting buffer at
    net.core.rmem_max = 163840
    net.core.wmem_max = 163840

    i take A on bufferbloat test instead of B.

    Perhaps it could be improved again. Should I increase or decrease the buffer? i have 100 + down / 20up line ..

    EDIT: with mac is ok but downloading with xbox is now much slower. it would be better perhaps to increase the values... now I go back to the default values later I will do other tests
    EDIT: i run other test with default values and results are A on bufferbloat..
    In fact these tests are not very reliable ..

    I can be satisfied with this router and the Voxel firmware. I was undecided whether to buy the r7800 or the linksys ac3200.
    In the end I think I made a good choice even if I have not tried ac3200 and seems to have a higher power of the antennas in the specifications..
    thanks 1000
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2018
    Voxel, rbird2 and kamoj like this.
  15. jsmiddleton4

    jsmiddleton4 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    518
    Having trouble with attached devices again. Stuff isn't being written to memory. Going back to .54 version.

    Sorry mean .52. My wireless speeds were getting bogged down too. Like a memory buffer/cache was getting full?

    Had it right the first time. .54.

    Way faster, router GUI way faster. Attached devices works as expected.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2018
  16. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,253
    Probably something was changed since my recommendation, sorry. BTW did your use my version or stock when formatting overlay? Usually this procedure is performed when changing from DD-WRT to stock using some specialized stock fw version.

    Voxel.
     
  17. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,253
    Strange. My devices are shown OK with 60SF. Speed should be the same. Maybe reset is needed.

    Voxel.
     
  18. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,253
    Info for Entware users: Entware is upgraded. It is enough to run:

    Code:
    /opt/bin/opkg update
    /opt/bin/opkg upgrade
    
    to upgrade your version.

    Voxel.
     
    vladlenas, cordezz and kamoj like this.
  19. jsmiddleton4

    jsmiddleton4 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    518
    "Maybe reset is needed."

    Tried. Same result after a day or so slows down and attached devices are goofed up.

    Does not happen with .54.
     
  20. percy3

    percy3 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Messages:
    92
    I am on 1.0.2.60FS version and after each restart I am getting from web interface prompt to update OpenVPN package. Is it possible to get rid of that message? How can I upgrade OpenVPN package?

    percy