D-Link DIR-882 AC2600 MU-MIMO Wi-Fi Router Reviewed

  • ATTENTION! As of November 1, 2020, you are not able to reply to threads 6 months after the thread is opened if there are more than 500 posts in the thread.
    Threads will not be locked, so posts may still be edited by their authors.
    Just start a new thread on the topic to post if you get an error message when trying to reply to a thread.

thiggins

Mr. Easy
Staff member
You mean all four streams. You need a 4x4 device to be sure. But the 1560 Mb/s rate equates to four streams, 80 MHz bandwidth using 256 QAM and long guard interval.
 

e38BimmerFN

Very Senior Member
Look under wireless for W0, W1, W2 and possibly W3 tabs and W# Advanced tabs. These will let you know what actual radios are detected and being used.
 

SloppyG

New Around Here
Yeah that's what I found Odd - I only see wl0 (2.4) and wl1 (5g).

But perhaps if I'm seeing 1560 it indicates 4 streams ARE available? I uploaded screenshots if that helps.
 

Attachments

  • wireless_basic.png
    wireless_basic.png
    180.6 KB · Views: 1,298
  • wireless_status.png
    wireless_status.png
    238 KB · Views: 1,239
  • wireless_status_wl1.png
    wireless_status_wl1.png
    201.9 KB · Views: 1,090

e38BimmerFN

Very Senior Member
Ok, So this router is only two radio supporting.
(800 Mbps on 2.4GHz + 1,733 Mbps on 5GHz)

You would see something like this for 3 radio supporting routers:
(1000Mbps on 2.4GHz + 2166Mbps on 5GHz + 2166Mbps on 5GHz)

Are you using default TX PWR settings or 100mW manual settings?
 

SloppyG

New Around Here
Are you using default TX PWR settings or 100mW manual settings?

uploaded advanced wl1 page, all should still be on their factory defaults as shown (auto for power)

If i change it to "manual" i get an option for 1-1000mw
 

Attachments

  • wireless_wl1-Advanced.png
    wireless_wl1-Advanced.png
    185.1 KB · Views: 802

e38BimmerFN

Very Senior Member
Do the following from telnet while using AUTO TX PWR setting:
wl -i eth1 txpwr
wl -i eth2 txpwr

Let us know what it reports...
 

SloppyG

New Around Here
Do the following from telnet while using AUTO TX PWR setting:
wl -i eth1 txpwr
wl -i eth2 txpwr

Let us know what it reports...


DD-WRT v3.0-r34080 std (c) 2017 NewMedia-NET GmbH
Release: 12/14/17

DD-WRT login: root
Password:
==========================================================

___ ___ _ _____ ______ ____ ___
/ _ \/ _ \___| | /| / / _ \/_ __/ _ __|_ / / _ \
/ // / // /___/ |/ |/ / , _/ / / | |/ //_ <_/ // /
/____/____/ |__/|__/_/|_| /_/ |___/____(_)___/

DD-WRT v3.0
http://www.dd-wrt.com

==========================================================


BusyBox v1.27.2 (2017-12-14 17:32:57 CET) built-in shell (ash)

[email protected]:~# wl -i eth1 txpwr
-sh: wl: not found
[email protected]:~# wl -i eth2 txpwr
-sh: wl: not found

---------------------------------
Ah, wl may not be supported:

maybe some of the following helps?
[email protected]:~# ifconfig
ba0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B1
inet6 addr: fe80::76da:daff:fe6d:3bb1/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2648 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1394 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:3000
RX bytes:576267 (562.7 KiB) TX bytes:359267 (350.8 KiB)
Interrupt:32

br0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B0
inet addr:192.168.0.1 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::76da:daff:fe6d:3bb0/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:9695149 errors:0 dropped:419 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:11321199 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:7017970485 (6.5 GiB) TX bytes:12655376829 (11.7 GiB)

br0:0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B0
inet addr:169.254.255.1 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B0
inet6 addr: fe80::76da:daff:fe6d:3bb0/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:21389082 errors:0 dropped:18 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:20811514 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:19907008857 (18.5 GiB) TX bytes:19739266863 (18.3 GiB)
Interrupt:11

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:65536 Metric:1
RX packets:796 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:796 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:82375 (80.4 KiB) TX bytes:82375 (80.4 KiB)

ra0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B0
inet6 addr: fe80::76da:daff:fe6d:3bb0/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:853 errors:2 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:240 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:3000
RX bytes:93538 (91.3 KiB) TX bytes:54201 (52.9 KiB)
Interrupt:12

vlan1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B0
inet6 addr: fe80::76da:daff:fe6d:3bb0/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:9616104 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:11182691 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:7012279775 (6.5 GiB) TX bytes:12429373642 (11.5 GiB)

vlan2 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B1
inet addr:24.166.233.210 Bcast:24.166.235.255 Mask:255.255.252.0
inet6 addr: fe80::76da:daff:fe6d:3bb1/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:11772960 errors:0 dropped:13174 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:9628817 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:12509723140 (11.6 GiB) TX bytes:7143252309 (6.6 GiB)​



also:

[email protected]:~# iwconfig
wds6 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

wdsi8 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

wds1 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

vlan1 no wireless extensions.

wdsi3 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

lo no wireless extensions.

br0 no wireless extensions.

wds5 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

wdsi7 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

tunl0 no wireless extensions.

teql0 no wireless extensions.

wds9 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

wds0 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:"Gin&Juice"
Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B0
Bit Rate=130 Mb/s

wdsi2 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

ra0 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:"Gin&Juice"
Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B0
Bit Rate=130 Mb/s

wds4 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

wdsi6 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

wds8 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

apcli1 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

wdsi1 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

eth0 no wireless extensions.

wds3 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

wdsi5 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

apclii1 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

wds7 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

wdsi9 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

apcli0 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

wdsi0 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:"Gin&Juice5"
Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B1
Bit Rate=1.56 Gb/s

ip6tnl0 no wireless extensions.

ba0 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:"Gin&Juice5"
Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B1
Bit Rate=1.56 Gb/s

wds2 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

vlan2 no wireless extensions.

wdsi4 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

apclii0 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s​
 

e38BimmerFN

Very Senior Member
Hmmm interesting.
That works on a DIR-868L. I'll have to see if that works on my 890L. Maybe different on the 882 for some reason.

Ya nothing in your details about TX PWR though. Hmmm. Wonder if there is a different command to get TX PWR.

I know for the 868L, Auto sets 1496mW which MAX and I have to reduce to about 600mW, however I might try 100mW.
It's not recommended to use MAX TX PWR as you maybe just broadcasting more noise and eventually burn up the radios. o_O

Seems that yours is using 100mW if yours is set for Auto TX PWR.
 

e38BimmerFN

Very Senior Member
Heres what I get for my 890L: AUTO TX PWR
[email protected]:~# wl -i eth1 txpwr
31.75 dBm = 1496 mw.
[email protected]:~# wl -i eth2 txpwr
31.75 dBm = 1496 mw.

iwconfig doesn't work on the 890L -
[email protected]:~# iwconfig
-sh: iwconfig: not found

[email protected]:~# ifconfig
br0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr
inet addr:192.168.0.89 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2004 errors:0 dropped:181 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1614 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:515794 (503.7 KiB) TX bytes:1804694 (1.7 MiB)

br0:0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 9
inet addr:169.254.255.1 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2025 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1634 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:573947 (560.4 KiB) TX bytes:1812070 (1.7 MiB)
Interrupt:179 Base address:0x4000

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:1 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

eth2 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

eth3 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:65536 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

vlan1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:2025 errors:0 dropped:7 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:1614 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:529397 (516.9 KiB) TX bytes:1804694 (1.7 MiB)

vlan2 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr
inet addr:192.168.0.90 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:20 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:840 (840.0 B)

Seems that there are some differences on the 882.
The 882 is a MediaTek chipset:
https://wikidevi.com/wiki/D-Link_DIR-882_rev_A1
 

SloppyG

New Around Here
Hmmm interesting.
That works on a DIR-868L. I'll have to see if that works on my 890L. Maybe different on the 882 for some reason.

Ya nothing in your details about TX PWR though. Hmmm. Wonder if there is a different command to get TX PWR.

I know for the 868L, Auto sets 1496mW which MAX and I have to reduce to about 600mW, however I might try 100mW.
It's not recommended to use MAX TX PWR as you maybe just broadcasting more noise and eventually burn up the radios. o_O

Seems that yours is using 100mW if yours is set for Auto TX PWR.

Thanks for the responses, yeah I guess mediatek (chipset) isn't supported by the WL commend (yet). I didn't realize that was a thing.

This seems like a decent router but I'm concerned that the mediatek chipset isn't well supported yet and the standard firmware isn't very deep (I don't recall even seeing an option to see all connected clients, for example). I'll keep playing though :)

(mainly having issues with poor 5g range compared to last router and wifi seems to drop occasionally for a couple seconds)
 

e38BimmerFN

Very Senior Member
Ya man. Might ask whos ever building the WRT for the 882 to see if they know any commands for the 882 that work for MediaTek.

I know on OEM FW, there is a Connected Clients icon to select on and shows all wired and wireless devices connected. OEM FW is simplistic so if your looking for more advanced options, WRT will have them.
 

Yaglur

Occasional Visitor
The review states nice to have ipv6 port forwarding.

Since ipv6 doesn't use NAT isn't the firewall rules enough? Is dlink ipv6 firewall implementation lacking?

Thanks
 

System Error Message

Part of the Furniture
The review states nice to have ipv6 port forwarding.

Since ipv6 doesn't use NAT isn't the firewall rules enough? Is dlink ipv6 firewall implementation lacking?

Thanks
I still would not buy dlink regardless. They're past repeated actions are a concern if you value your security and in getting a decent device overall, both hardware and software, even in reliability
 

e38BimmerFN

Very Senior Member
You might be best suited to try out the router and see if it works for you. If your ISP supports IPv6 natively, then you want to contact D-Link and ask them about there implementations for IPv6.D-Link also chooses to use the more simplistic form of the UI. Yes there older UI had more and was more granular. I think D-Link chose to follow the needs of the average home user being simple and just want simple setup and east of use. Maybe not a thing for the more advanced network user.

D-Link has made great improvements in there FW over the years. I've had zero security issues using D-Link over the years. They do fix security issues in a timely manor. They do more to be forth coming in regards to security concerns now days then some other router Mfrs. D-Link is posting more about security issues that are at hand to the public. Something I find lacking in other router Mfrs.

Try it out, if you don't like it, return it for a refund. I use amazon.

The review states nice to have ipv6 port forwarding.

Since ipv6 doesn't use NAT isn't the firewall rules enough? Is dlink ipv6 firewall implementation lacking?

Thanks
 
Last edited:

e38BimmerFN

Very Senior Member

apvm

Regular Contributor

Thanks, I was lucky to pick up an used DIR-882 for cheap this past Saturday. Tested it against my R7000 and WRT1900AC, the simple way since I have a blind spot for 5G at a corner of my house.

Tested it with my HTC-M8 cellphone.

WRT1900AC v.2 with Openwrt (lede) firmware, can connect to 5G but will drop connection.
R7000 with latest DDWRT (Kong's build), can see the 5G but could not obtain an ip address.

Dir-882 with latest DDWRT, connected to 5G and speed test about 38mbps/9mbps with my 50/10 internet connection.

You are right, it is worth the upgrade, thanks again.
 

Latest threads

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top