1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

D-Link DIR-882 AC2600 MU-MIMO Wi-Fi Router Reviewed

Discussion in 'Wireless Article Discussions' started by thiggins, Oct 9, 2017.

  1. thiggins

    thiggins Mr. Easy Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13,916
    You mean all four streams. You need a 4x4 device to be sure. But the 1560 Mb/s rate equates to four streams, 80 MHz bandwidth using 256 QAM and long guard interval.
     
  2. e38BimmerFN

    e38BimmerFN Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    USA
    Look under wireless for W0, W1, W2 and possibly W3 tabs and W# Advanced tabs. These will let you know what actual radios are detected and being used.
     
  3. SloppyG

    SloppyG New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Yeah that's what I found Odd - I only see wl0 (2.4) and wl1 (5g).

    But perhaps if I'm seeing 1560 it indicates 4 streams ARE available? I uploaded screenshots if that helps.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. e38BimmerFN

    e38BimmerFN Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    USA
    Ok, So this router is only two radio supporting.
    (800 Mbps on 2.4GHz + 1,733 Mbps on 5GHz)

    You would see something like this for 3 radio supporting routers:
    (1000Mbps on 2.4GHz + 2166Mbps on 5GHz + 2166Mbps on 5GHz)

    Are you using default TX PWR settings or 100mW manual settings?
     
  5. SloppyG

    SloppyG New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    uploaded advanced wl1 page, all should still be on their factory defaults as shown (auto for power)

    If i change it to "manual" i get an option for 1-1000mw
     

    Attached Files:

  6. e38BimmerFN

    e38BimmerFN Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    USA
    Do the following from telnet while using AUTO TX PWR setting:
    wl -i eth1 txpwr
    wl -i eth2 txpwr

    Let us know what it reports...
     
  7. SloppyG

    SloppyG New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    6

    DD-WRT v3.0-r34080 std (c) 2017 NewMedia-NET GmbH
    Release: 12/14/17

    DD-WRT login: root
    Password:
    ==========================================================

    ___ ___ _ _____ ______ ____ ___
    / _ \/ _ \___| | /| / / _ \/_ __/ _ __|_ / / _ \
    / // / // /___/ |/ |/ / , _/ / / | |/ //_ <_/ // /
    /____/____/ |__/|__/_/|_| /_/ |___/____(_)___/

    DD-WRT v3.0
    http://www.dd-wrt.com

    ==========================================================


    BusyBox v1.27.2 (2017-12-14 17:32:57 CET) built-in shell (ash)

    [email protected]:~# wl -i eth1 txpwr
    -sh: wl: not found
    [email protected]:~# wl -i eth2 txpwr
    -sh: wl: not found

    ---------------------------------
    Ah, wl may not be supported:

    maybe some of the following helps?
    [email protected]:~# ifconfig
    ba0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B1
    inet6 addr: fe80::76da:daff:fe6d:3bb1/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:2648 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1394 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:3000
    RX bytes:576267 (562.7 KiB) TX bytes:359267 (350.8 KiB)
    Interrupt:32

    br0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B0
    inet addr:192.168.0.1 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::76da:daff:fe6d:3bb0/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:9695149 errors:0 dropped:419 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:11321199 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:7017970485 (6.5 GiB) TX bytes:12655376829 (11.7 GiB)

    br0:0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B0
    inet addr:169.254.255.1 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B0
    inet6 addr: fe80::76da:daff:fe6d:3bb0/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:21389082 errors:0 dropped:18 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:20811514 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:19907008857 (18.5 GiB) TX bytes:19739266863 (18.3 GiB)
    Interrupt:11

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:65536 Metric:1
    RX packets:796 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:796 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:82375 (80.4 KiB) TX bytes:82375 (80.4 KiB)

    ra0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B0
    inet6 addr: fe80::76da:daff:fe6d:3bb0/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:853 errors:2 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:240 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:3000
    RX bytes:93538 (91.3 KiB) TX bytes:54201 (52.9 KiB)
    Interrupt:12

    vlan1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B0
    inet6 addr: fe80::76da:daff:fe6d:3bb0/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:9616104 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:11182691 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:7012279775 (6.5 GiB) TX bytes:12429373642 (11.5 GiB)

    vlan2 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B1
    inet addr:24.166.233.210 Bcast:24.166.235.255 Mask:255.255.252.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::76da:daff:fe6d:3bb1/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:11772960 errors:0 dropped:13174 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:9628817 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:12509723140 (11.6 GiB) TX bytes:7143252309 (6.6 GiB)​



    also:

    [email protected]:~# iwconfig
    wds6 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

    wdsi8 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

    wds1 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

    vlan1 no wireless extensions.

    wdsi3 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

    lo no wireless extensions.

    br0 no wireless extensions.

    wds5 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

    wdsi7 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

    tunl0 no wireless extensions.

    teql0 no wireless extensions.

    wds9 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

    wds0 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:"Gin&Juice"
    Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B0
    Bit Rate=130 Mb/s

    wdsi2 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

    ra0 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:"Gin&Juice"
    Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B0
    Bit Rate=130 Mb/s

    wds4 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

    wdsi6 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

    wds8 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

    apcli1 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

    wdsi1 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wds3 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

    wdsi5 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

    apclii1 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

    wds7 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

    wdsi9 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

    apcli0 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

    wdsi0 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:"Gin&Juice5"
    Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B1
    Bit Rate=1.56 Gb/s

    ip6tnl0 no wireless extensions.

    ba0 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:"Gin&Juice5"
    Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: 74:DA:DA:6D:3B:B1
    Bit Rate=1.56 Gb/s

    wds2 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=6 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:130 Mb/s

    vlan2 no wireless extensions.

    wdsi4 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s

    apclii0 RTWIFI SoftAP ESSID:""
    Mode:Managed Channel=36 Access Point: Not-Associated
    Bit Rate:1.56 Gb/s​
     
  8. e38BimmerFN

    e38BimmerFN Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    USA
    Hmmm interesting.
    That works on a DIR-868L. I'll have to see if that works on my 890L. Maybe different on the 882 for some reason.

    Ya nothing in your details about TX PWR though. Hmmm. Wonder if there is a different command to get TX PWR.

    I know for the 868L, Auto sets 1496mW which MAX and I have to reduce to about 600mW, however I might try 100mW.
    It's not recommended to use MAX TX PWR as you maybe just broadcasting more noise and eventually burn up the radios. o_O

    Seems that yours is using 100mW if yours is set for Auto TX PWR.
     
  9. e38BimmerFN

    e38BimmerFN Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    USA
    Heres what I get for my 890L: AUTO TX PWR
    [email protected]:~# wl -i eth1 txpwr
    31.75 dBm = 1496 mw.
    [email protected]:~# wl -i eth2 txpwr
    31.75 dBm = 1496 mw.

    iwconfig doesn't work on the 890L -
    [email protected]:~# iwconfig
    -sh: iwconfig: not found

    [email protected]:~# ifconfig
    br0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr
    inet addr:192.168.0.89 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:2004 errors:0 dropped:181 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1614 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:515794 (503.7 KiB) TX bytes:1804694 (1.7 MiB)

    br0:0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 9
    inet addr:169.254.255.1 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:2025 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1634 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:573947 (560.4 KiB) TX bytes:1812070 (1.7 MiB)
    Interrupt:179 Base address:0x4000

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:1 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    eth2 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    eth3 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:65536 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    vlan1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:2025 errors:0 dropped:7 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1614 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:529397 (516.9 KiB) TX bytes:1804694 (1.7 MiB)

    vlan2 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr
    inet addr:192.168.0.90 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:20 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:840 (840.0 B)

    Seems that there are some differences on the 882.
    The 882 is a MediaTek chipset:
    https://wikidevi.com/wiki/D-Link_DIR-882_rev_A1
     
  10. SloppyG

    SloppyG New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Thanks for the responses, yeah I guess mediatek (chipset) isn't supported by the WL commend (yet). I didn't realize that was a thing.

    This seems like a decent router but I'm concerned that the mediatek chipset isn't well supported yet and the standard firmware isn't very deep (I don't recall even seeing an option to see all connected clients, for example). I'll keep playing though :)

    (mainly having issues with poor 5g range compared to last router and wifi seems to drop occasionally for a couple seconds)
     
  11. e38BimmerFN

    e38BimmerFN Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    USA
    Ya man. Might ask whos ever building the WRT for the 882 to see if they know any commands for the 882 that work for MediaTek.

    I know on OEM FW, there is a Connected Clients icon to select on and shows all wired and wireless devices connected. OEM FW is simplistic so if your looking for more advanced options, WRT will have them.
     
  12. pbc

    pbc Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    sorry...wrong section
     
  13. SloppyG

    SloppyG New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    e38BimmerFN likes this.
  14. pbc

    pbc Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Thanks! Will look into that.
     
  15. Yaglur

    Yaglur New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    The review states nice to have ipv6 port forwarding.

    Since ipv6 doesn't use NAT isn't the firewall rules enough? Is dlink ipv6 firewall implementation lacking?

    Thanks
     
  16. System Error Message

    System Error Message Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2014
    Messages:
    4,090
    I still would not buy dlink regardless. They're past repeated actions are a concern if you value your security and in getting a decent device overall, both hardware and software, even in reliability
     
  17. e38BimmerFN

    e38BimmerFN Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    USA
    You might be best suited to try out the router and see if it works for you. If your ISP supports IPv6 natively, then you want to contact D-Link and ask them about there implementations for IPv6.D-Link also chooses to use the more simplistic form of the UI. Yes there older UI had more and was more granular. I think D-Link chose to follow the needs of the average home user being simple and just want simple setup and east of use. Maybe not a thing for the more advanced network user.

    D-Link has made great improvements in there FW over the years. I've had zero security issues using D-Link over the years. They do fix security issues in a timely manor. They do more to be forth coming in regards to security concerns now days then some other router Mfrs. D-Link is posting more about security issues that are at hand to the public. Something I find lacking in other router Mfrs.

    Try it out, if you don't like it, return it for a refund. I use amazon.

     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2018
  18. apvm

    apvm Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Worth upgrading from a R7000 to this? tia
     
  19. e38BimmerFN

    e38BimmerFN Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    USA
    Yes.
     
    apvm likes this.
  20. apvm

    apvm Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Thanks, I was lucky to pick up an used DIR-882 for cheap this past Saturday. Tested it against my R7000 and WRT1900AC, the simple way since I have a blind spot for 5G at a corner of my house.

    Tested it with my HTC-M8 cellphone.

    WRT1900AC v.2 with Openwrt (lede) firmware, can connect to 5G but will drop connection.
    R7000 with latest DDWRT (Kong's build), can see the 5G but could not obtain an ip address.

    Dir-882 with latest DDWRT, connected to 5G and speed test about 38mbps/9mbps with my 50/10 internet connection.

    You are right, it is worth the upgrade, thanks again.
     
    e38BimmerFN likes this.