What's new

Dedicated wired VPN router

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

RDziuba

New Around Here
I am a newbie to this forum & routers in general.
At the moment I am using ASUS RT -AC68U (wireless off) WAN connected to LAN Port 2 on Netgear C6300BD modem (in bridge mode & wireles off) to access Open VPN in USA from Australia for media streaming on my Roku3 - LAN wired.
Also connected to the modem LAN Port 1 is ASUS RT-AC87U WAN to take care of wireless & other network peripherals such as desktop PC, Tablets, laptops etc.
I am looking for a wired router with a faster throughput WAN -LAN / LAN - WAN to replace the RT-AC68U as a dedicated VPN router. Someone suggested a Cisco - NHC-RV042G-K9.
I do understand that I am still limited by the speed of the internet connection -but i want to eliminate as many choke points as I can.
Does anyone have a better solution?
Richie

pfSense on a small desktop. Way faster, cheaper, and easy. I have been running for the past 2 years on a $50 retired HP Enterprise Desktop with an additional NIC. My OpenVPN speeds are pretty much only limited by the speed of the connection I can get to my laptop or phone. Running locally, I can get several hundred Mbps. The best I have gotten remote is about 150Mbps.

With pfSense - does that mean i have to be running a PC all the time to watch Netflix?
why is this better that a wired router? if i go down this path - what model?
Richie

Not sure if I am following your Netflix statement....this PC is dedicated as a router. It does nothing else...it has no monitor, no keyboard, and no mouse.