What's new

DELL X540-T2 10 GbE NIC want allow M/B to boot

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

3DCadModeler

New Around Here
First let me congratulate Dennis Wood on a fine series.

He inspired me to do some testing of my own, now I'm a newbie to both Networking and 10GbE Nics. My problem is I cant even get my hardware to talk to each other.

Motherboards ............1150 Asus Z97-A...................1155 Gigagyte Z77X-D3H
CPU.............................I7-4790K..................................I7-3770K
Memory.......................GSkill 32Gb.............................G Skill 32Gb
SSD.............................128 Gb Samy Pro...................2x256 Samy Pro Raid 0
Video cards removed to give full access to the PCIe slots, running on Intel HD
Both running Windows 8.1 Pro

All was working fine over a 1 GbE Network until I installed a Dell X540-T2 10 GbE Nic into both computers and neither will boot, not even post!

Now I have tested 1 of the cards in my work station (2011 M/B, I7-3930K) and all worked well, set it up to replace a 1GbE Nic.

Has Dell limited the cards compatibility?
Can I rescue them for my test bed,
or do I hand them over to my Grinning Boss for his server?

Stay tuned, the aim is a High Speed Network for Solidworks modelling – 3 stations
Regards to all

Last edited:
Hi,
Is MB BIOS up-to-date?

Can you get the boot error codes? That would be the first place to start.

Next would probably be contacting the board manufacturers depending on what the boot codes are.

Thanks azazel1024, I'm away from the office/home for another week.
When I return I'll see what codes I can acquire.

Would be nice if it at least worked with the Asus Z97-A as this config is proving to be a nice Solidworks station