1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Enabling DHCP auth options 60 and 61 on Netgear Voxel Routers for Sky UK etc

Discussion in 'NETGEAR AC Wireless' started by Charles, Oct 18, 2017.

  1. Charles

    Charles Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    As requested for the R7800. It can be applied to other Netgear routers that don't normally support DHCP auth in stock firmware, by enabling SSH access with Voxel's firmware.

    1) Enable SSH as per Voxel's instructions and log in with a tool like PuTTY or WinSCP.

    2) Backup your original /etc/init.d/net-wan file.

    3) For R7800, edit lines 116 and 118 of net-wan (line numbers may differ slightly depending on FW version) to:

    Code:
    udhcpc -b -i $WAN_IF -r $($CONFIG get wan_dhcp_ipaddr) -N $($CONFIG get wan_dhcp_oldip) ${u_wan_domain:+-d $u_wan_domain} -c "[email protected]|abcdefgh" -V "2.02.1861.R|001|ER115|B1234567890123" &
    Code:
    udhcpc -b -i $WAN_IF -r $($CONFIG get wan_dhcp_ipaddr) -N $($CONFIG get wan_dhcp_oldip) ${u_wan_domain:+-d $u_wan_domain} -c "[email protected]|abcdefgh" -V "2.02.1861.R|001|ER115|B1234567890123"
    Depending on what extent you want to emulate your Sky router, you can use your own extracted client info, vendor info, and its MAC in the next step.

    4) Spoof the MAC if you want to, in the Router UI:
    Advanced -> Internet Setup -> Router MAC address

    5) Note: the net-wan modification will need to be repeated when you update the router firmware. For a cleaner solution, you could implement a script to make the changes at boot time.

    6) Reboot.
     
    Voxel likes this.
  2. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,329
    In general original is available always: /rom/etc/init.d/net-wan

    It is better to have a backup in tarball stored on external USB flash. Example:

    Save your changes, i.e. net-wan and ssh settings (once):

    cd /
    tar cf /mnt/sda1/backup.tar etc/init.d/net-wan root/.ssh


    Restore saved changes after every update of firmware enabling and using telnet:

    cd /
    tar xf /mnt/sda1/backup.tar
    reboot


    Voxel.
     
    Tom_Batty and Charles like this.
  3. Charles

    Charles Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Thanks for the tip Voxel, this will save a lot of time when updating firmware, especially across multiple routers!
     
  4. tarassippo

    tarassippo Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    UK
    And assuming I could enable telnet on a R7000 stock firmware, would it be possible to add option 60/61 ?

    Thanks.
     
  5. tarassippo

    tarassippo Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    UK
    Is there a way to edit /etc/init.d/net-wan for a R7000 with stock firmware (I've got telnet working) ?

    The attachment shows what I get when I type /etc/init.d/net-wan in the command console.

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. lee phillips

    lee phillips New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Hi there,

    did you figure this out?

    I'm not sure if editing the file is possible with telnet, and that ssh needs to be used instead, which looks quite difficult

    Thanks
     
  7. tarassippo

    tarassippo Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    UK
    Nope I couldn't find a way to do it and then I installed DD-WRT, so no stock firmware anymore...
     
  8. lee phillips

    lee phillips New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    so did you use ssh with DD-WRT?

    What were you trying to do?

    I want to use Sky on my R7800 with Voxel rather than DD-WRT.

    SSH seems simple with DD-WRT, but I can't work out how to enable SSH on Voxel - I'm starting to think I need a linux machine in order to generate and copy the keys
     
  9. kamoj

    kamoj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    414
    Voxel likes this.
  10. lee phillips

    lee phillips New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2018
    Messages:
    4
  11. kamoj

    kamoj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    414
    yes
     
  12. Hydci

    Hydci New Around Here

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Hello, I come to you to have some information I am a French user at home I have to fill it "neufbox_NB6V-MAIN-xxxxxxx_yyyyyyyyy" if I understood correctly it is the option 60 with us so that the router obtains an address internet I have to edit the lines as well?

    udhcpc -b -i $WAN_IF -r $($CONFIG get wan_dhcp_ipaddr) -N $($CONFIG get wan_dhcp_oldip) ${u_wan_domain:+-d $u_wan_domain} -c "neufbox_NB6V-MAIN-xxxxxxx_yyyyyyyyy" -V "2.02.1861.R|001|ER115|B1234567890123" &

    udhcpc -b -i $WAN_IF -r $($CONFIG get wan_dhcp_ipaddr) -N $($CONFIG get wan_dhcp_oldip) ${u_wan_domain:+-d $u_wan_domain} -c "neufbox_NB6V-MAIN-xxxxxxx_yyyyyyyyy" -V "2.02.1861.R|001|ER115|B1234567890123"

    thank you in advance for your help
     
  13. kamoj

    kamoj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    414
    No... To me it seems like that is the Vendor ID, i.e. the -V part, not the -c part:
    -V "neufbox_NB6V-MAIN-xxxxxxx_yyyyyyyyy"

    The -c part should be your Client ID/password (option 61).
     
  14. Tom Brough

    Tom Brough Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Does this technique still work? Does anyone have the scripts to run to get it working?

    How do you back up the /etc/init.d/net-wan file? How do you edit the file afterwards?? I would love to keep using voxels firmware but all these bits get complicated to the untechnical minded. Lol
     
    tarassippo likes this.
  15. kamoj

    kamoj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    414
    I made an add-on for this long time ago,
    but i never got anyone to test it.

    I'm away from home now and can not do anything now,
    but when i get back I can give you the add-on for testing -
    If you are still interested.

    The instructions above are basically still correct, but Netgear has changed the net-wan file since then.
    So these instructions must be updated for the latest Netgear and Voxel releases.
     
  16. Tom Brough

    Tom Brough Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Messages:
    53
    Yes I'll give it a try, I don't change service until 10th Feb so there's no rush... At the minute it's just normal pppoe connection.
     
  17. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,329
    I am sorry. But this build is really a bit over complicated if you want something more from your router. It is because of lacking source codes from NG for WebGUI processor... They (NG) do not want to deal with me unfortunately.

    In general how to backup your settings is described here above:

    https://www.snbforums.com/threads/e...xel-routers-for-sky-uk-etc.41720/#post-353344

    Voxel.
     
    kamoj likes this.
  18. tarassippo

    tarassippo Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2017
    Messages:
    89
    Location:
    UK
    Is there a 'search' function which would allow me to locate the path of 'net-wan' file ? I'd like to locate that file in my R7000 too...
     
  19. kamoj

    kamoj Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    414
    find / -name net-wan

     
  20. Voxel

    Voxel Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    1,329
    R7000 is Broadcom. Different scheme as far as I understand... I am not sure that net-wan could be corrected on R7000.