What's new

Home Firewall: pfSense On Untangle Hardware? (u150)

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

PinkFloydEffect

Regular Contributor
I really want to run pfSense at home, to create a subnet as I share a WiFi network with another family. The current system requirements are a 600MHz processor with 512MB of RAM. I have some firewall choices I got from work, I just started studying for my CCNA so bare with me if I am not making sense on your level yet. We upgraded our firewall a few times over the years at work, especially when we started using two different WAN connections. We have a D-LINK DFL-260E, a NETGEAR FV336G and a UNTANGLE u150 all of which are no longer being used. Now we just run pfSense on a little standalone 1U HP server with 4 NICs. Not sure why we did not load it onto the Untangle?
A1fmyoY.jpg

The DFL-260E only has a 266MHz processor (Intel xScale IXP425), some appear to have come with a 532MHz Intel xScale IXP435 but that is barely going to cut it. The FV336G only has a 300MHz processor and 64MB of DRAM so that will not run pfSense either. However the u150 has a dual-core processor with 4GB of RAM and a 7200rpm HDD so that should be capable of running pfSense. I know you can buy a mini-PC with multiple NICs to run pfSense but this u150 has high quality NICs. I may even be able to upgrade the HDD to a SSD, I can run pfSense on Untangle hardware...right?

D-LINK DFL-260E
http://www.dlinkworks.com/DFL-260E.asp

Port Speed: 7x Switched Ports @ Gigabit
PoE: ?
Firewall Throughput: 150Mbps
VPN Throughput: 45Mbps
IPS Throughput: 60Mbps
CPU: Intel xScale IXP425 @ 266MHz*
CPU: Intel xScale IXP435 @ 532MHz*
Memory: Unknown

-

NETGEAR FVS336G
https://www.netgear.com/business/products/security/FVS336G.aspx