What's new

Issue with RT-AX86U Signal Strength

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

SchneiderIS

Occasional Visitor
I am not an expert here so please bear with me. My network is a Asus AiMesh configuration with a RT-AX88U as the primary and two RT-AX86U’s as nodes (all connected via dedicated ethernet backhaul at 2.5G). All three currently are running Merlin 388.1 firmware. I did try running the 86’s on 386.5_2 as well but still have the same issue as below. The reason I am looking at this is that my network has been lacking in performance when users are connected to the 86's.

What I am seeing from the Site Survey is that my RT-AX86U has a much weaker signal strength than my RT-AX88U, even though the 88 is an extra 30 feet and two exterior walls away.

In the following image the Red MeCasa representing the RT-AX88U and the black MeCasa being the RT-AX86U. These are measurements for the 5GHz range.

Pasted Graphic 1.png

The RT-AX86U is close to the front of the house where presumable it is closer to all the other WiFi’s in the neighbourhood. The RT-AX88U is very close to the back alley where I would not expect a lot of other routers to be covering.

Could it simply be that I am getting clobbered by all the other signals? Is there anything else that I can do to increase the signal strength, or are the 86’s just that much weaker? Or am I barking up a non-issue here?