What's new

MOCA noob needs advice

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

rs1987

Occasional Visitor
Hi all

While I'm pretty technical in all other areas, I've never used a cable ISP before, let alone MOCA. My new place has an awkward layout and is also too large for a single router. My ISP cable comes in under the stairwell where the coax connections for all the rooms in the house terminate in an 8-way splitter box.

All my computing equipment is in the office downstairs at the front of the house, which is across the hallway from the stairwell and there is no wireless coverage upstairs at the back of the house or on the back terrace, so I'd love to put a router upstairs.

I have no way of running ethernet backhaul, so I'm looking at MOCA as a solution.

I plan on disconnecting the 8-way box and putting in a 2 way MOCA compatible splitter. However, I'm unsure if the topology I have planned is valid, due to the lack of experience with MOCA/coax.

The diagram below shows what I think is the correct setup (the right of the diagram has images of the connectors on the MOCA adapter and the cable modem so you can check that the wiring on the diagram is valid).

I'd very much appreciate if someone with more smarts than me on this could take a look a let me know if this setup will work. I'd hate to go out and spend close to $200 on these MOCA adapters only to find out that this setup won't work.

Thanks in advance

moca.jpg

Nope.
For your local network, you need to get to the ISP modem first from outside. That establishes your interney service. Then you use MOCA modems to extend the ethernet across the in house cable.

One coax connector on the motorola modem is for tv pass through and one for moca in.

Nope.