1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[SOLVED] Device location issue, need advice...

Discussion in 'General Wireless Discussion' started by htismaqe, Mar 22, 2019.

  1. htismaqe

    htismaqe Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Location:
    Fly Over Country
    I currently have a Netgear R7800 running Kong DD-WRT.

    I have my 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz interfaces using the same SSID, we have mostly new devices and they pretty reliably switch back and forth.

    However, we just purchased a new smart TV and it happens to be in a the exact location where it can't decide to connect to 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz, so sometimes it bounces back and forth.

    I'm wondering if I should setup a dedicated virtual SSID similar to my guest network, confined to just one band, so that the TV can't bounce.

    Any thoughts?
     
  2. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    8,046
    Location:
    UK
    My TV suffered from the same indecision :D so I've used the wireless MAC filter to stop it connecting to one of the AP's. I don't know whether that would work in your situation (assuming DD-WRT supports MAC filters lists). Worth a try.
     
  3. htismaqe

    htismaqe Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Location:
    Fly Over Country
    I actually only have 1 AP so I would have to force it to connect only one band. I could do that by setting up a new virtual SSID (I already have two for the guest network) and just bridge it to the eth0 LAN, I'm just not sure if that's the right solution or not. I literally don't have this issue with any other device, so it's frustrating.
     
  4. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    8,046
    Location:
    UK
    Same here, but each band is technically a different AP and each has its own MAC filter list.
     
  5. htismaqe

    htismaqe Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Location:
    Fly Over Country
    Interesting. I'm guessing if you can do it on RMerlin, DD-WRT can do it.

    EDIT: Yep, I can use MAC filters to do it. Thanks!
     
  6. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    8,046
    Location:
    UK
    Will it be enough to stop it bouncing though? I guess time will tell. If not then your idea of having a separate SSID looks like a good solution.
     
  7. htismaqe

    htismaqe Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Location:
    Fly Over Country
    Good question. I might setup a dedicated 5Ghz SSID just for the smart TVs (the other two use 5Ghz and don't bounce) and see how well it works. I also have a 5Ghz client bridge I could use I suppose. Then I could place it better and use an ethernet cable to the TV.
     
  8. htismaqe

    htismaqe Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Location:
    Fly Over Country
    Ended up setting up the 5Ghz client bridge to see how it worked. It is, of course, flawless. Seems like this LG TV just has a terrible wireless adapter or something because the bridge is right next to the TV and has a 30% better 5Ghz signal. (Ironically, the TV had a better 5Ghz signal than 2.4Ghz signal most of the time, so why it was switching to 2.4Ghz, I have no freaking clue. LOL)
     
    ColinTaylor likes this.