What's new

Super-rookie with questions

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

rat4go

New Around Here
OK, I'll start with the statement that I'm VERY NEW to wireless network set-up. I've used wireless as a 'consumer' lots of times, but never built a network, but now we're trying to find a solution to our issues.

We'd planned to build a small office network around a satellite system as the location is semi-rural, thus no DSL and No cable available. On one end of the road where we are, there are many trees to our south and the Sat installer isn't confident that he can get sat signal unless the dish is in front of the building. Boss doesn't want to look out the office window and see a dish, and won't cut down tress, so....

The building across the street does not have the tree problem and is using sat for Internet connection. The boss contacted them and they're willing to 'share' the connection and cost (likely upping the speed somewhat with the pooled $), but they don't want to spend any $ on hardware (we'd have to do that), AND their building is about 700' away from ours.

As I understand it, Cat5 or coax wouldn't go that far without a booster, and burying wire isn't the preferred option anyway (paved road makes it difficult), so I'm trying to figure out if there's a wireless solution. I've read about some folks getting very long range wireless (further than this), so I'm hoping this is possible.

Keep in mind that internet connection speeds with the sat are pretty slow in comparison to DSL or Cable, so overall wireless system speed isn't super critical, but a reliable connection is important.

In a perfect world, I'd want/need: