What's new

Total newb; completely lost - IPTables and DNSMasq

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Malaromane

New Around Here
I apologise for signing up and immediately asking completely newb questions but I've been searching through the forum and the wiki on my own but I'm just completely lost.

I've just upgraded my router from a Netgear R7000 running DD-WRT to an ASUS RT-AC86U. Straight out of the box, I upgraded it to the latest ASUS firmware and then subsequently upgraded it to the 384.5 ASUSWRT-Merlin build before doing any configuration.

I've got pretty much everything configured and working well and I've enabled jffs and also ssh access to the router. But there are still two things that I just can't seem to figure out how to do correctly:

1. Add a rule to the DNSMasq configuration:
I need to add a rule along the lines of:
address=/domain.name.net/111.222.333.444

I've created a file named dnsmasq.conf.add in the /jffs/configs directory on the router with the above line in it (and nothing else) and rebooted the router but the rule doesn't seem to be taking effect (when I do an NSLOOKUP for the specified address, it's not returning the IP address I'd expect. I've ensured that I do a /flushdns and a /renew on the PC I'm testing with each time.

2. Create a firewall iptables rule:
On my DD-WRT router, I've got two commands entered into the Firewall section on the Commands tab similar to:
iptables -t nat -I PREROUTING --destination <ip> -j DNAT --to <alternate IP>

I cannot for the life of me figure out where I'm supposed to do this in Asuswrt-Merlin or, if on the command line, what file I should be putting it into.

Could some kind soul put me out of my misery?

Welcome @Malaromane