What's new

What do I need for SBC Static IPs

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

SRITRI

New Around Here
Firstly I would like to say that I am a novice in understanding network and IP setups.

I have SBC 5-static IP plan Business DSL connection. I had a 2Wire modem/router given by SBC to handle all the 5 sticky/static IPs. I need 4 stickies for my 4 webservers and one more for sharing the internet by other wireless clients.

The 2Wire modem/router had this option of being able to do multi-NAT (?) easily where I could choose the fixed IPs from router GUI.

So far all the DLink's, Linksys's & Netgears I have bought in stores, I am told by the respective support reps that, these router can handle only a single static ip and not multiple.

On Linksys forum, the moderator advised my to hang a WRT-4400N to a RV-0xx router which could handle multiple Static IPs. Since the RVs dont have gigabit ports, I will need a second gigabit switch it seems which make the whole thing very bulky to manage.

Is there an easy solution to all this ?

All I want to do is take the 5 static IPs given by SBC/Yahoo and assign them to 5 PCs so that they can be accessed publicly via internet just as was possible witn the 2Wire modem/router.

TIA

Shreeni

Something happened to them after the storms. Wireless speeds between connected PCs is slow and with the wired servers, a small file transfer chokes the whole router till I kill the transfer thru task manager.

When I use an alternate standby DSL modem hooked to a Linksys switch everything is OK. However the alternate DSL modem a Speedstream 5100 is unable to handle static IPs.