What's new

RT-AC87R Slow USB 3.0 Transfer Speeds

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

facelikejohnzee

New Around Here
Hi all,

I've been researching for the last 2 months regarding this issue, even contacted Asus support, but have not really found much information about it.

I get 20MB/s Read and 35MB/s Write speeds for my externally powered USB 3.0 hard drive formatted as NTFS thats attached to the USB 3.0 port on my RT-AC87R via FTP.

I am connected to the router via ethernet cable, so that rules out any Wireless clients (With Wireless, I get same results). I have Disabled "Reduce USB3.0 Interference" to ensure I get best performance. All AiProtection, DNS Filtering, Smart QOS, AiDisk, Built in Trend Micro Anti-Virus, DDOS protection etc.. has been disabled to ensure Routers workload is light. Tried on both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz frequencies, same result. I've even tried disabling 2.4 Ghz all together to ensure there is no interference. Router is NOT next to a microwave or cordless phone or anything, just in the center of the living room on a table. When I attach this hard drive to my computer, I get 120 Megabytes read speed. So I know this hard drive has the potential to go faster than 20MB/s

I am using Merlin's Firmware 376.48_1 (Thanks Merlin!)

Is there any way I can get a better read speed of 20 Megabytes a sec? Weird thing is, I am getting 35 megabytes write speed, isn't read speed usually faster than write speed? I know plenty of people have said to get a dedicated NAS for this type of need, but I'd be happy if I can get at least 35 megabyte read. I've seen somewhere on this forum where Merlin posted a screenshot of his transfer speeds, and he was getting I think about 60MB/s.