What's new

VPN connects but can't map network drive / view files

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

anlaoch

Occasional Visitor
Hi.

I'm new to vpn's and need some help getting mine to work. I'll try to set out the relevant information as best I can, but will add to as requested.

Server: XP Pro behind Creative Netblaster router.
Client: Vista Business connected via hotspots.
Server IP Address fixed and forwarded from router.
Port 1723 opened in xp firewall.

Incoming connections: Networking tab - all four boxes ticked.
Incoming TCP/IP connections: Network access ticked, TCP/IP automatically assigned, Allow calling computer to specify its own IP address ticked.

Client: IPv4 & IPv6 - all settings set to defaults.

Problem: VPN connects but I can't see the server when trying to map a network drive. I have 1 folder which is sync'd and this syncs automatically, but I can't add any further folders / drives.

Is this problem client or server side? Any suggestions what I should check?

Thanks in advance.

You may need to connect to your server by using its IP address. Sometimes VPN's block NetBIOS traffic because it tends to be a "chatty" protocol.

Thanks. I'm a bit lost. At the moment, I'm using dyndns updater to keep the ip address up to date. However, I've tried testing the connection using the ip address provided at a given time by whatismyip.com and again although I can make the connection, I can't see the computer or folders when attempting to map a network drive.

Thanks.

When mapping by IP address, that means the "internal" IP address...the IP of your VPN host. Example...192.168.1.100.

Sometimes the old poor mans WINS trick of adding to the lmhost file can be another method.