What's new

[384.18_Alpha Builds] Testing all variants

swejuggalo

Regular Contributor
The fallback to 192mbit on RT-AX88U is still present in my configuration. Still need to fix it via selecting manual channel on 5GHz network. Then it jumps back up at 866. Has existed since 383.16 and is probably due to the newer GPL merges since then.
383.15 worked fine with the exact same config.
Is this known and verified to be caused by the 2 latest GPL:s on AX88U? Or is the cause something else?

I'm still using "Dual-band smart connect", because why not... it's there and has worked just fine before (I know I can split up the SSIDs and stuff but I should not be forced to do so ;-) )
 

det721

Very Senior Member
Any ideas if this is a concern ?
Possible DNS-rebind attack detected: cs.tekblue.net
 

John Fitzgerald

Regular Contributor
Noticed this in the logs, is it a reason to return the new AX58U Ver.A1? Persisted on reboot.

May 5 01:05:08 kernel: nand: device found, Manufacturer ID: 0xc2, Chip ID: 0xda
May 5 01:05:08 kernel: nand: Macronix MX30LF2G18AC
May 5 01:05:08 kernel: nand: 256 MiB, SLC, erase size: 128 KiB, page size: 2048, OOB size: 64
May 5 01:05:08 kernel: bcm63xx_nand ff801800.nand: Adjust timing_1 to 0x6532845b timing_2 to 0x00091e94
May 5 01:05:08 kernel: bcm63xx_nand ff801800.nand: detected 256MiB total, 128KiB blocks, 2KiB pages, 16B OOB, 8-bit, BCH-4
May 5 01:05:08 kernel: Bad block table found at page 131008, version 0x01
May 5 01:05:08 kernel: Bad block table found at page 130944, version 0x01
May 5 01:05:08 kernel: nand_read_bbt: bad block at 0x00000e2a0000
 

Ozymandias

Occasional Visitor
I similarly have:
May 5 06:05:06 kernel: Bad block table found at page 131008, version 0x01
May 5 06:05:06 kernel: Bad block table found at page 130944, version 0x01
May 5 06:05:06 kernel: nand_read_bbt: bad block at 0x0000004e0000

on my AX56U
 

RMerlin

Asuswrt-Merlin dev
Noticed this in the logs, is it a reason to return the new AX58U Ver.A1? Persisted on reboot.

May 5 01:05:08 kernel: nand: device found, Manufacturer ID: 0xc2, Chip ID: 0xda
May 5 01:05:08 kernel: nand: Macronix MX30LF2G18AC
May 5 01:05:08 kernel: nand: 256 MiB, SLC, erase size: 128 KiB, page size: 2048, OOB size: 64
May 5 01:05:08 kernel: bcm63xx_nand ff801800.nand: Adjust timing_1 to 0x6532845b timing_2 to 0x00091e94
May 5 01:05:08 kernel: bcm63xx_nand ff801800.nand: detected 256MiB total, 128KiB blocks, 2KiB pages, 16B OOB, 8-bit, BCH-4
May 5 01:05:08 kernel: Bad block table found at page 131008, version 0x01
May 5 01:05:08 kernel: Bad block table found at page 130944, version 0x01
May 5 01:05:08 kernel: nand_read_bbt: bad block at 0x00000e2a0000
That's perfectly normal, and nothing new - bad block tables have been used since Asus switched to NAND, with the RT-AC66U back in 2012.
 

nzwayne

Regular Contributor
RT-AX88U operational on .18-alpha with 2x RT-AC86U's in back-haul AiMesh mode. No issues in last 24hrs.
 

Alaska99

Occasional Visitor
Problem with the main GUI page since .18 apha update. I joined a print screen of what I can see. I try flush cash files of Firefox , try with Edge and Chrome same things. Try reflash the .18 alpha and same things.
If I type url of other config pages all look fine, only index.asp is buggy.
 

Attachments

vdemarco

Senior Member
Problem with the main GUI page since .18 apha update. I joined a print screen of what I can see. I try flush cash files of Firefox , try with Edge and Chrome same things. Try reflash the .18 alpha and same things.
If I type url of other config pages all look fine, only index.asp is buggy.
I get that sometimes on the mac with Safari. That bug has been there for a long time, try reloading the page multiple times. When this happens to me i reload over and over until it works. I know it sucks, but whatever, i don't go to the router website all of the time.

But i just put on the new alpha and i do get this error

SyntaxError: 'break' is only valid inside a switch or loop statement.
(anonymous function) — Main_WStatus_Content.asp:90
onload — Main_WStatus_Content.asp:303

and

[Error] ReferenceError: Can't find variable: initial
onload (Main_WStatus_Content.asp:303)

[Error] TimeoutError: operation timed out
(anonymous function) (h1-vendors-honeypay-main-popover.js:39:27328)

So the SystemLog -> Wireless Log page has some issues.
 
Last edited:

marcwkh

Occasional Visitor
The speed dial at Adaptive QoS on AX88U looks broken and doesn't chart upload usage, I guess it's Asus break it again
 

Alaska99

Occasional Visitor
Problem with the main GUI page since .18 apha update. I joined a print screen of what I can see. I try flush cash files of Firefox , try with Edge and Chrome same things. Try reflash the .18 alpha and same things.
If I type url of other config pages all look fine, only index.asp is buggy.
I found that this bug appear only when GUI is set to French, when I switch to English the page load fine.
I joined a print screen of error in the page when set in french.
 

Attachments

L&LD

Part of the Furniture
Quick update on my RT-AX88U running RMerlin 384.18 Alpha 1 firmware and a wired RT-AX58U AiMesh node running the model equivalent version.

Over 2.5 days since I've flashed the (wired) RT-AX58U AiMesh node first, then the main RT-AX88U to 384.18 Alpha 1.

Rock-solid, no issues, slightly better performance from the 1Gbps up/down symmetrical ISP Fibre connection. :)

Time to update my signature, but I can see why RMerlin is ready to close the 384.17 release thread. :)

This one is done. :)

I updated the main router as usual: safely remove the USB drive, flash, enjoy. :)
 

heysoundude

Very Senior Member
This one is done. :)
I wait until an official release is announced.
call me cautious, but I don't like re-flashing backwards if something comes up in an alpha or beta.
kudos to you more adventurous types for helping Merlin get there, don't mistake me here, but I've just no need to be THAT bleeding edge.
(tomorrow or Monday is fine ;-p Or even Tues or Wed, when I apt update my daily driver)
 

Kingp1n

Very Senior Member
Asus RT AX 56U 384.18_Alpha.
NextDNS, Traditional QoS-fq_codel.
View attachment 23393
wow ...
Wireless Log working perfectly.
Factory defaults, settings by hand.
Can you share your setup for traditional QoS i.e. pics? I always used A. QoS but can never seem to get 'A' bufferbloat. I want to try traditional but just curious how your setup may look. Thanks.
 

GaselK

Occasional Visitor
Sure @Kingp1n
My line is a 55/5. Asus in bridge mode with ISP's modem(with Voip).
I was using Adaptive QoS but Traditional QoS seems much better in terms of responsiveness and overall throughput.
a.jpg

I also have to notice how good NextDNS for Merlin's fw is working... i am about to get a premium account. (running from router onboard ram. No USB stick. AX56U has noticeable lower ram usage than my previous AC86U).
....
@Kingp1n QoS rules and priorities left at default settings.
 
Last edited:

Kingp1n

Very Senior Member
Sure @Kingp1n
My line is a 55/5. Asus in bridge mode with ISP's modem(with Voip).
I was using Adaptive QoS but Traditional QoS seems much better in terms of responsiveness and overall throughput.
View attachment 23394
I also have to notice how good NextDNS for Merlin's fw is working... i am about to get a premium account. (running from router onboard ram. No USB stick.)
Thanks ...really appreciated. Whats your setup under the traditional qos, user-defined QoS rules and priorities?
 

Sign Up For SNBForums Daily Digest

Get an update of what's new every day delivered to your mailbox. Sign up here!
Top