1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

ASUS RT 86u looses Open VPN settings

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by sleeperb, Jan 23, 2020.

  1. sleeperb

    sleeperb New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Texas
    I have an RT 86u router running 383.14_2.
    Anytime the router reboots it looses the Open VPN server users. They then have to all be re-entered.
    Same thing happened with Asus stock firmware and Merlin 383.14.
    The server users do not save in the configuration file when saved either.
    Is this normal behavior for this router? If not, do you know the fix.
    Thank you.
     
  2. miroco

    miroco Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Messages:
    118
    Did you check your internal storage? Tools/Sysinfo
     
  3. CaptainSTX

    CaptainSTX Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Messages:
    2,324
    This is not normal behavior. If memory is OK then you may need to do a factory reset, NVRAM clear, reload firmware and then reconfigure from scratch. If that doesn't solve the issue then try the full Nuclear Reset which L&LD has detailed in his signature.
     
  4. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,990
    @sleeperb, yes, this certainly isn't normal.

    Look in my signature below for the links for the M&M Config and also the Nuclear Reset guide too to get your router back to a good/known state.

    I am assuming here that you have flashed RMerlin firmware to the router without doing a full reset to defaults, followed by a minimal and manual configuration to secure the router and connect to your ISP (do not use a saved backup config file).
     
  5. sleeperb

    sleeperb New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks to all for procedures to correct this fault. I will give it a try and let you know what transpires.
     
  6. sleeperb

    sleeperb New Around Here

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Texas
    I reset the router to factory settings a couple of times. Still had issues. Reset again and reloaded firmware and for 2 days has been working fine.
    Thanks again for the advice.
     
    elorimer and L&LD like this.