What's new

Asus RT-AC86U setup issues

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Kiiran_B

Occasional Visitor
Hey all, first post here so go easy, I'm a noob.

Recently got a 86U and I'm trying to set it up for fibre internet. I have a DM200 modem from Netgear but I can't get the Asus router to hold a connection long enough even on the GUI. It keeps cutting out with a red WAN light. I've had to reset the router every time I try to set it up.

The modem is set to modem only mode and the DHCP server option is turned off.

The Asus GUI is also very slow. When windows troubleshoots the network it says there is a DNS issue.

Any help will be appreciated!

Thanks

Hi @Kiiran_B and welcome to SNB!

This section of the forum is for wired routers only.

For faster response better post your question in "ASUS AC Routers & Adapters" section here:
https://www.snbforums.com/forums/asus-ac-routers-adapters.47/

In case you run Asuswrt-Merlin firmware on your router, the right place to ask questions is here:
https://www.snbforums.com/forums/asuswrt-merlin.42/

Ah sweet! Thanks for that, I don't want to double post, so could an admin move this over?

Make sure you follow the setup instructions described in the RT-AC86U User Guide:
https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/wireless/RT-AC86U/E15867_RT-AC86U_UM_v4_WEB.pdf

I followed the instructions, but it seems that as soon as setup is done there is not connection to the router through wireless or through LAN and the internet light is solid red. I've tried factory resetting plenty of times, but it doesn't help.

I'm with talk talk fibre, is there anything I'm supposed to do while setting up?

I'm with talk talk fibre

I have no idea what talk talk fibre is.