Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Asuswrt-Merlin - Project update

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by RMerlin, Sep 4, 2017.

  1. minwoomod

    minwoomod New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    I just wanted to know about the time ,and didn't rush him.
    Hope you know we can't open this web site in china, have to use the vpn, but recently have a lot of vpn were block.
    We will more and more difficult to use vpn and open this web site.
     
  2. MacG32

    MacG32 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    PT US
    @RMerlin Would you recommend upgrading from the older models to the new RT-AC86U?
     
  3. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,220
    Location:
    Canada
    Depends on your needs.
     
  4. iceorbital

    iceorbital New Around Here

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2016
    Messages:
    9
    FWIW i 'upgraded' my RT-AC88U to AC86U and couldn't be happier about it. I don't know if it's software or HW related but all the quirks i had with wifi signal on the AC88U are gone. Solid coverage all around the house.
     
  5. tbessie

    tbessie Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    I'm still using my good old RT-N66U (I have a reasonably small apartment, so don't need the signal to carry TOO far). However, I'm thinking of upgrading to the RT-AC86U.

    Anyone think I'd gain much, if I'm not a gamer and don't have a huge area to cover? I also have 8Mbps DSL here, so super speeds aren't crucial (tho' they may be later, once we get upgraded to Fiber).

    Living room to bedroom is not quite as fast as I'd like, which is why I'm thinking of upgrading.
     
  6. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    3,713
    Location:
    UK
    It sounds like anything that accesses to internet will be limited by your 8Mbps line. As for your living room to bedroom speeds, that depends on what devices you are using and what speeds you have/want. The main difference will be the switch from N to AC speeds on the 5GHz band.

    EDIT: Just realised that this question is off-topic and should probably have been asked elsewhere.
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2017
  7. tbessie

    tbessie Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Well, other folks in this thread have discussed upgrading to this router as well. I would want to use AsusWRT-Merlin on it, so it's reasonably related; and there's a lot of people in this thread who know technical details about Asus routers, especially as it regards this firmware. :)

    - Tim
     
  8. akb

    akb Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Would I even want my rt-ac88u on the 382? I feel like it will be buggy for days, only since 380.68 have I had a stable router.
     
  9. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,220
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes. The new Trend Micro engine is an improvement. There are also many new features coming for the RT-AC88U, like IFTTT/Alexa support or AiMesh (and a few others).
     
  10. akb

    akb Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Sounds tempting as long as it's stable, really prefer that over features. Will I be locked in 382, as in I can not go back to 380, similar to I forgot the version, which locked down the firmware from ASUS.

    Thanks!
     
  11. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,220
    Location:
    Canada
    The lockdown was put in place to prevent flashing back firmware from before mid-2016 (approximately). It does not prevent you from flashing previous versions, as long they use the new header signature used by all releases for over a year now.
     
    amplatfus likes this.
  12. akb

    akb Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2016
    Messages:
    44
    Alright, thanks for the replies, and looking forward to the releases.
     
  13. MacG32

    MacG32 Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    PT US
    I really like the numbers you posted here. The processor seems to be able to handle OpenVPN quicker, the range seems longer, and the features have been upgraded. Since you also have one, it will be the first release of your new AM382, and the upgrade is feasible, I went ahead and purchased one. It will be here tomorrow. It seemed like the only logical approach to your project update. I can't wait to start testing out the new 382.1 Alpha. Thanks @RMerlin :)
     
  14. tmac1900

    tmac1900 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Hey, Merlin, I just want you to know that if you drop support for the RT-AC68U I wont be upset. You do what you can do - no pressure! We all want you to know we're grateful for your contributions to the open community. However, I don't see why it wouldn't work with the 68.
     
  15. Chris313AllNight

    Chris313AllNight Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2013
    Messages:
    57
    Why would he drop support for the 68U? That's one of Asus most used models, there's like 8 different versions of the 68U. If Merlin drops any support as he mentioned he may do, it'd be the N66U/AC66U because of how old the platform is compared to the 68U and newer.
     
  16. Jack Yaz

    Jack Yaz Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    621
    A lot of it depends on what 382 GPLs Asus provide.
     
    skeal likes this.
  17. bradbort

    bradbort Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    161
    I've been using it on an 88u for about a week. So far, it seems stable. I'm not doing bit torrent, but do have 18 different wireless clients attached throught the day, with a mix of apple and PC based stuff.
     
  18. tmac1900

    tmac1900 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Here's some numbers from my RT-AC68U running at 1400/1100 MHz

    Code:
    ASUSWRT-Merlin RT-AC68U 380.68-2 Mon Sep 11 21:44:06 UTC 2017
    [email protected]:/tmp/home/root# openssl speed -evp aes-128-cbc
    Doing aes-128-cbc for 3s on 16 size blocks: 7759585 aes-128-cbc's in 3.00s
    Doing aes-128-cbc for 3s on 64 size blocks: 2212635 aes-128-cbc's in 2.96s
    Doing aes-128-cbc for 3s on 256 size blocks: 591835 aes-128-cbc's in 3.00s
    Doing aes-128-cbc for 3s on 1024 size blocks: 149601 aes-128-cbc's in 3.00s
    Doing aes-128-cbc for 3s on 8192 size blocks: 18816 aes-128-cbc's in 3.00s
    OpenSSL 1.0.2l  25 May 2017
    built on: reproducible build, date unspecified
    options:bn(64,32) des(idx,cisc,16,long) aes(partial) idea(int) blowfish(ptr)
    compiler: arm-brcm-linux-uclibcgnueabi-gcc -I. -I.. -I../include  -fPIC -DOPENSSL_PIC -DOPENSSL_THREADS -D_REENTRANT -DDSO_DLFCN -DHAVE_DLFCN_H -ffunction-sections -fdata-sections -O3 -Wall -DOPENSSL_BN_ASM_MONT -DOPENSSL_BN_ASM_GF2m -DSHA1_ASM -DSHA256_ASM -DSHA512_ASM -DAES_ASM -DBSAES_ASM -DGHASH_ASM
    The 'numbers' are in 1000s of bytes per second processed.
    type             16 bytes     64 bytes    256 bytes   1024 bytes   8192 bytes
    aes-128-cbc      41384.45k    47840.76k    50503.25k    51063.81k    51380.22k
    Here I calculated the difference between the AC86U and AC68U

    Code:
    aes-128-cbc
    16:   7,759,585   /   35,491,686   = 21.9%
    64:   2,212,635   /   24,811,450   = 8.9%
    256:   591,835   /   11,333,538   = 5.2%
    1024:   149,601   /   3,625,589   = 4.1%
    8192:   18,816   /   492,161       = 3.8%
    
     
  19. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,220
    Location:
    Canada
    In terms of actual OpenVPN throughput, I saw roughly three times the performance of an RT-AC68U (getting a bit over 200 Mbps with AES-128-CBC). The difference become even greater once you move to AES-256-CBC.
     
    MacG32 likes this.
  20. RMerlin

    RMerlin Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    24,220
    Location:
    Canada
    And for the sake of completeness, these are the numbers when using Broadcom's HW crypto engine:

    Code:
    type         16 bytes     64 bytes    256 bytes   1024 bytes   8192 bytes
    aes-128-cbc  24085.54k    138212.27k  398918.40k  2079193.60k  9392713.14k
    
    Performance is poor on small blocks of data, but once you move to large blocks, the results are a bit ridiculous :) Sadly, this is of limited usefulness for things like VPN.
     
    MacG32 likes this.

Share This Page