What's new

Cascading switches

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

argint

Occasional Visitor
Hi All, Firstly, thanks again for a great forum site, great articles, great, er, everything ;-) Its one of those site finds that still excites!!!

My background is software development so Im relatively new to the network side of things. However, getting to the point, as discussed above.....
I also want to run several "desktop" switches from a master switch. I wondered how that might effect each "port" on the master switch The average user is an Office (MS office) user, so its not heavy traffic, maybe loaded by patch tuesday, big document scans etc, all hosted services like sharepoint, email etc... (I have these noob images of a cat5e cable with too much "stuff" being squirted down it!!!)

So - in summary, mounting a switch under each group of four/six nodes, and feeding that desktop switch from the master switch (all gigabit) wont cause any problems?

Is this a common scenario, or do people more often have one wire per node? One wire per node isnt really practical for us, dues to dek layouts etc...not impossible, but not really what we would like.

BTW, is there a good intro book on designing networks like this for technically minded newcomers? Not too basic, not too heavy read?

Many thanks in advance.....

Argint

Cascaded switches are very commonly used for just the reasons you cite. The only way to know if the uplinks are going to get saturated is to do traffic analysis. Managed or smart switches can help with this, since they can provide traffic stats. Dumb/unmanages switches can't.