What's new

Comparing my Dir-655 with my new WNDR3700

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

techchick

New Around Here
Hi,

I've been using a Dir-655 for the past 3 years with ok results.
I have this tendency to treat myself to new stuff once in a while so after replacing my iPhone 3GS with an iPhone 4 - I decided to replace my trusty router...

I considered two options: the WNDR3700 and the Apple Airport Extreme.

Reading all the chatter about how amazing the WNDR3700 - I decided to give it a shot.
5Ghz sounded great to me, everybody was talking about the WNDR3700 trouncing every other router with it's amazing range etc...

Well... so far I can't say I'm disappointed - but I'm not impressed.
As far as the usage of this router at my place - I am using: a 6 months old macbook pro, a Samsung netbook, a Dell PC, an iPad and an iPhone 4.

My house has two stories and I've always had pretty good coverage with the Dir-655.

So anyway - I hooked up the WNDR3700 and so far here is my impression:
Range: seems to me (not scientific) that the Dir-655 is (was) a tad better.
Speed: I'd say it's a wash
5Ghz: ok, nice but the signal is shaky in the second floor on my MBP and unusable on my iPad in the second floor - so not sure if this is such a big deal.
Interface: one feature i'm missing is the possiblity to see the signal level of the connected wireless clients to the router which the Dir-655 offers. For the rest - similar.

So, my conclusion (so far) is that the WNDR3700 isn't really an upgrade.

Anyone care to comment ? am I missing anything here?

Last edited:
The WNDR3700 is an upgrade only in that it offers 5 GHz and the 655 doesn't.

The 5 GHz band on all N routers has reduced range vs. 2.4 GHz.