What's new

DS-923+ Fan Noise

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

gustavo1spbr

Occasional Visitor
I recently bough this NAS after seeing reviews it is dead silent, but would have to disagree. I run the NAS over my desk, just by the monitor. I already configured the fans to run in quiet mode, but they are still noisy. I'm sure there's no defect, it's just that they are not as silent as I thought. I wonder if anyone knows any hack to reduce fan noise in this unit, like having them replaced by some super efficient model, or anything like that.

For comparison, my 4-drive QNAP TS-423Be, which I have been using for 4 years, is indeed dead silent. It runs on a single 12mm fan that makes no noise. But this Synology runs on 2 9mm drives that are noisy in quiet environments.

Thank you.

Two smaller fans will always be less effective and noisier than a larger fan. Replacing them will be an exercise in frustration for reducing noise output at the distance used.

Consider moving the NAS to another LAN-connected location instead.

Check your fan settings... default is "cool mode" which keeps the fans spinning...

Screenshot 2023-09-05 at 10.09.01 AM.png

Two smaller fans will always be less effective and noisier than a larger fan. Replacing them will be an exercise in frustration for reducing noise output at the distance used.

Consider moving the NAS to another LAN-connected location instead.

That would be the fallback solution, just moving there somewhere else. But they would still be in my home office and the noise will not go away just by doing that.

What I was really looking for is an indication for a really quiet third party fan model that I could manually replace.

Or some app or command line hack that could reduce the noise.