1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

[DSL-AC68U] AsusWrt Merlin builds for DSL routers

Discussion in 'Asuswrt-Merlin' started by GNUton, Apr 7, 2019.

Tags:
  1. RMerlin

    RMerlin Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    33,282
    Location:
    Canada
    upload_2020-1-19_13-19-31.jpeg
     
  2. Zendilar

    Zendilar Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Greece
    I am running the latest DSL-AC68U_384.14_2-gnuton1_DSL_1.0.4.9 and I was ready to post that everything is completely normal but I notice this
    this image is from my office dsl-ac68u
    68u office.png

    and this image is from my home dsl-ac68u
    68u home.png
    as you can see both devices are running the same FW but the bootloader is different, both devises are running diversion but there is no tab of diversion statistics on the second one.
    I performed a factory reset to my home device but nothing changed.
    does anyone else has the same issue.
     
  3. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    13,031
    Did you install uiDivStats on the second one?
     
  4. Zendilar

    Zendilar Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Greece
    No, and you are right, that was the case about the tab of diversion statistics.
    I installed it and now I can see the tab, but I can't explain the bootloader.
     
    L&LD likes this.
  5. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12,114
    Location:
    UK
    There's nothing to explain. They just have different bootloaders because one was manufactured more recently than the other.
     
    L&LD likes this.
  6. Zendilar

    Zendilar Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Greece
    I was thinking about that to, but the one with 1.0.0.8 is manufactured more recently, the one with 2.0.0.3 is older so DOM has nothing to do with it.
    And I believe that the bootloader is part of the software not the hardware.
     
  7. ColinTaylor

    ColinTaylor Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12,114
    Location:
    UK
    The CFE is stored in non-volatile memory but installing a firmware update doesn't normally change it. It's written at manufacturing time.
     
  8. kernol

    kernol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    South Africa
    If its any consolation - I have three DSL-AC68U's in the family and all have CFE 2.0.0.3 from date of purchase in 2018 and no changes brought about by any firmware installs since then - stock and every version of GNUton that has been produced so far.
     
  9. bmn1

    bmn1 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    199
    Hi everyone, i have an asus dsl-ac68u with original firmware 3.0.0.4.384_56087 on board I tried to set up nord vpn it works but it does not take full advantage of the band (download 6mb), using nordvpn from gui it works perfectly (download 18mb) so i wanted to try to use the Stable firmware: 384.14 _2-gnuton1 can you show me how to do it, i have never flashed a router.
    PS: thank you in advance for your help, sorry for bad english.[​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Update: updated to stable firmware: 384.14 _2-gnuton1 all ok, is it possible to use expressvpn?
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2020
  10. barnold

    barnold New Around Here

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Not really applicable to this thread, but get the openVPN files from your chosen provider. Then on router, VPN Client tab, you've got 5 client settings that you can save. upload ovpn file to router, might need to also type in username and password. Save. You can do that for 5 different client profiles with 5 ovpn files for 5 different servers.
     
  11. kernol

    kernol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    South Africa
    @GNUton - now that RMerlin has released 384.15.0 firmware ... it would be really great if you could find the time to update gnuton-ware :D.

    384.15 is incredibly stable and feature rich. :)
     
    thelonelycoder likes this.
  12. potsiea

    potsiea New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    I have a DSL-AC68U running 384.14 _2-gnuton1 that i have trouble achieving acceptable VDSL2 speeds. It is nothing to do with the firmware, but i loaded it hoping it might address the issue. Using a free cheapie Netcomm modem/router borrowed from my ISP, i can get 22.5- 23 down and just over 1 up out of the box. We are in a rural location about 1.3km from the cabinet hence with the poor numbers, but these are as good as they get.

    However, with the DSL-AC68U it is more in the range of 19-20 and 0.8 up and that is after i have maxed it out with tweaks to the DSL connection. Sometimes it will just go slow with single digit download speeds. Reboots and resets do not help. Out of the box, speeds are around 18 down with no tweaks

    I have the opportunity to return it under warranty, but that would be a huge hassle time wise (took 2 weeks last time i had a problem) and i don't know if i can expect any better performance if replaced with another. I just don't get why a premium router performs badly with DSL performance, but has such good WiFi capabilities.

    Is this a common problem with the 68U and should i expect better from a new unit, in which case i will cut my losses and either get a refund or buy a modem to connect to it and just use Ethernet WAN. I am happy to post my settings & DSL log up if that helps
     
  13. kernol

    kernol Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Messages:
    478
    Location:
    South Africa
    See this possibly related post https://www.snbforums.com/threads/asus-dsl-ac68u-issue-dropping-connection.61708/#post-549385
    Start by examining your SNR and Line Attenuation - if it is poor/bad [see link to acceptable results in referred thread above] - then there isn't a modem/router on the planet that will fix your problem.

    The three DSL-AC68U's that I have give the same line speed results in their different locations whether running Asus Stock firmware or GNUton adjusted Merlin firmware.

    If your SNR and Line Attenuation results are Good to Excellent at the modem/router - then check with your ISP that you have all the DSL settings correct.
     
    potsiea likes this.
  14. yusufd1

    yusufd1 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    @GNUton like @kernol I am also eagerly awaiting the update to the latest merlin. I use this router solely as a fibre router and it is great. Thank you for all the great work that you are doing in this space. I believe that the latest merlin F/W sorts out some mdns issues which I believe could be causing a problem with my home automation devices.

    Anyway you got another big fan down here in South Africa. Keep up the great work.
     
    kernol likes this.
  15. potsiea

    potsiea New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Thank you for your reply.

    I have gone through the links provided and compared my results after a nuke reset and M&M install with the tables. If i interpreted it correctly, my Signal Attenuation is outstanding and Line Attenuation is excellent. I couldn't follow how to calculate a SNR Margin to achieve a particular download rate.

    SNR margin is by default at 5.8 and i do get better speeds if i reduce this to say 4 and switch Rx AGC GAIN Adjustment to High Performance, but now i am a bit confused as i have been reducing the SNR Margin to improve speed, but it looks like i should be increasing it?

    The settings are all correct per the ISP - they only say VLAN ID of 10

    Thank you for your time

    Annotation 2020-02-11 084421.png
     
  16. GNUton

    GNUton Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2019
    Messages:
    114
    Location:
    Italy
    Hi there,
    I have good news for you. There is a 384.15 pre-release now available for testing.
    It can be downloaded from https://github.com/gnuton/asuswrt-merlin.ng/releases/tag/384.15_0-gnuton0_alpha2
    It is already running on my router and I'm connected thanks to it. So it should be safe and it should work.

    Please test it out and let me know if you face any problem.

    Thanks a lot!
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2020
    terran, ssechaud, kernol and 2 others like this.
  17. thelonelycoder

    thelonelycoder Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    7,006
    Location:
    Switzerland
    yusufd1, GNUton, L&LD and 1 other person like this.
  18. yusufd1

    yusufd1 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    I have installed the latest firmware on my AC 68U, however for the moment I am using that router as a node within the Ai Mesh setup. Anyway the upload went well and all node related functions appear to be working fine. Thanks
     
    GNUton likes this.
  19. L&LD

    L&LD Part of the Furniture

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    13,031
    @yusufd1, are you actually using a DSL-AC68U with @GNUton firmware on it as an AiMesh node?
     
  20. yusufd1

    yusufd1 New Around Here

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2020
    Messages:
    3

    Yes that's correct

    Screenshot 2020-02-12 at 09.52.07.png
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2020
    kernol, GNUton and L&LD like this.