What's new

HELP! Asus Ax11000 (Merlin 388.2)- Slow 5ghz Speeds when Enabling Guest 2.4ghz Wifi

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

SocratesPrime

New Around Here
Hello guys,

I am very new to all this, so please be patient.

I got my first aftermarket router Asus Ax11000 just this very week, and it was simply awesome with the stock firmware. However, I faced some issues when adding pihole, and everything I read pointed me to using Merlin.

First off, Merlin is simply awesome. I downloaded the latest version for my router, which is version 388.2.

At first, I was surprised when I noticed it had two files, but I quickly realized that the primary distinction was the ROG skin. So I went with the ROG skin that was named "GT-AX11000_388.2_2_rog_ubi.w"

It was super easy to update the firmware, and I was able to set up my pihole perfectly. All good.

Now, the problem starts.

You see, for my wifi configuration, I have disabled Wifi-5ghz-2 and only use the 2.4ghz and Wifi-5ghz-1 . This works well for me, as my tv and phone uses the 5ghz and my IOT devices run on the 2.4ghz. Before installing Merlin, everything seemed to be running perfectly, I was getting excellent speeds on both 2.4ghz and 5ghz-1. For my testing, I run my speed test locally using LibreSpeed (a simple app that allows you to test lan speed from my Home Media Server). From my s23 ultra, I was able to get about 1400mbs-1500mbs up and down, which is insane since it's faster than my Gaming PC connected via gigabit ethernet. For internet, I get about 800mbs up and down on the phone. From the desktop, connected via ethernet, internet is 920mbs up and down. (My Internet Plan is 1gigabit fiber)