What's new

Important Spec's

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

observer

New Around Here
Hi, I am new to the world of wireless and am looking at buying a new Router to move my internet access around the house. Before you click away, No this is not a 'what is the best router question post'. I am prepared to do the leg work, but just want to know what spec's would be important for me to consider as I know every location is different.

I live in a two story house with the access point in a corner of an upstairs room, not the best location I know. To add to this all my devices are downstairs with a wooden floor between them and what we call plasterboard walls, if that translates to something you are familar with as every country seems to give their wall linings a different name lol. I would be expecting to run everything wireless as I have lan cable available for that but want the TV's and smart devices i.e. Ipods I have to be able to connectto the web.

I am currently running a Buffalo airstation WHR-HP-G300N downstairs at the moment to connect to a couple of internet TV's down stairs, it is connected to the AP through Lan cables and a computer downstairs. I managed to stumble through setting it up and actually got it to work, plse dont take this as any kind of wireless know, more like painting by numbers. I tried connecting this straight to my switch upstairs via lan cables but couldn't get it to work so is has both connections to a desktop machine and the switch. No t sure if thats how you are meant to do it ,but it works so :)

So to get to my actual questions
1) Given the intended location of the router, what spec's are important to me when looking at the various reviews/testing?