1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice

Welcome To SNBForums

SNBForums is a community for anyone who wants to learn about or discuss the latest in wireless routers, network storage and the ins and outs of building and maintaining a small network.

If you'd like to post a question, simply register and have at it!

While you're at it, please check out SmallNetBuilder for product reviews and our famous Router Charts, Ranker and plenty more!

Kamoj information add-on V4 for Netgear R7800 X4S and R9000 X10 (Temperatures a.o.)

Discussion in 'NETGEAR AC Wireless' started by kamoj, Feb 16, 2019.

  1. kamoj

    kamoj Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    828
    You should be able to scroll down the form.
    If you can not, I have forgot to include the patch for allow scrolling. :(

     
  2. percy3

    percy3 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Messages:
    115
    Maybe you could include syslogd in next version of your add-on?
    Something that will get enabled by issuing for example nvram set syslog_ip=10.0.0.1 command?
    Sample config for syslog can be found here:
    in line 30 of /etc/init.d/syslgod:
    Code:
        syslogd -C -m 0 -T "$($CONFIG get time_zone)" -c "$g_total"
    new file /etc/init.d/zzzsyslogd-net
    Code:
      
    #!/bin/sh /etc/rc.common
    # Copyright (C) 2006 OpenWrt.org
    START=99
    
    LOG_CATEGORY_FILE=/tmp/logcategory
    CONFIG=/bin/config
    
    SLIP=10.0.0.1
    
    # save the log category information
    g_total=0
    
    update_check_log ()
    {
            local LAS=$(($($CONFIG get log_allow_sites) << 0))
            local LBSS=$(($($CONFIG get log_block_sites_services) << 1))
            local LCWI=$(($($CONFIG get log_conn_web_interface) << 2))
            local LRO=$(($($CONFIG get log_router_operation) << 3))
            local LDAPS=$(($($CONFIG get log_dos_attacks_port_scans) << 4))
            local LPFT=$(($($CONFIG get log_port_firwarding_trigering) << 5))
            local LWA=$(($($CONFIG get log_wire_access) << 6))
            local LACR=$(($($CONFIG get log_internet_conn_reset) << 7))
            local LWOS=$(($($CONFIG get log_wire_signal_sched) << 8))
            local LVPN=$(($($CONFIG get log_vpn_head) << 10))
    
            g_total=$(($LAS + $LBSS + $LCWI + $LRO + $LDAPS + $LPFT + $LWA + $LACR + $LWOS + $LVPN))
    }
    
    start ()
    {
        update_check_log
        logread | nc $SLIP 514
        killall syslogd
        syslogd -L -R $SLIP -m 0 -T "$($CONFIG get time_zone)" -c "$g_total"
    }
    
    stop ()
    {
        killall syslogd
    }
    
    restart ()
    {
        stop
        start
    }
    
    
    Limitations:
    1. Has been tested with syslog server connected within LAN segment over Ethernet only.
    2. Syslog server has to accept messages via both UDP and TCP.

     
    kamoj and SwampKracker like this.
  3. xTe22-pT

    xTe22-pT Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2019
    Messages:
    15

    Hello kamoj,

    Thank you for getting back to me. Let me also tell you really appreciate for your great job !

    Yes I am actually able to scroll page down, but screen ends exactly at option "Enable 11k". I have printed screen to you check what exactly I am seeing on my end.

    kamoj debug.jpg

    Cheers ,
    A
     
    kamoj likes this.
  4. kamoj

    kamoj Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    828
    I don't own an R9000, so I can't answer you immediately.
    Voxel has one, but he is busy with something else now.

    So I have to check Netgears source code to if something is changed there.
    Then I'll come back to you.

     
  5. Lord_Vader

    Lord_Vader Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Kamoj, getting this when running the code suggested:
    [email protected]:/$ dos2unix -u full_path_and_name_to.ovpn

    dos2unix: full_path_and_name_to.ovpn: No such file or directory

    [email protected]:/$

    Also, second question, when adding the NOVPN string, should it look like this: "PHILIPS_9200_NOVPN" or "WNDR3400V3_HD_NOVPN"?

    Thanks :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2019
  6. kamoj

    kamoj Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    828
    1). You must replace "full_path_and_name_to.ovpn" with e.g. "/etc/openvpn/config/client/nordvpn.ovpn",
    where nordvpn.ovpn is the name of your .ovpn file.
    Example:
    dos2unix -u /etc/openvpn/config/client/nordvpn.ovpn

    2). The complete string can look any way you like, it must just include the character sequence: NOVPN
    Both your examples are valid.
    Another valid example is: NOVPNLord_Vader

     
    Lord_Vader likes this.
  7. kamoj

    kamoj Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    828
    I checked it, and I'm sorry for what has happened. :(
    This form for the R9000 is exactly the same as for the R7800.
    Obviously I've missed to include all R9000 specifics.
    Sorry for that!:oops:

    I'll try to fix it in the next version of the Add-on. :D

     
  8. xTe22-pT

    xTe22-pT Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2019
    Messages:
    15


    No worries at all. Glad I was able to reporting that issue to you.
    Looking forward for the next addon update ;)

    Cheers,
    A.
     
    kamoj likes this.
  9. kc6108

    kc6108 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    @kamoj

    I have been wanting to try your add-on for a couple months, but I can't do without the R9000 specifics (fan info, etc).

    Have you made any progress on this?
     
    kamoj likes this.
  10. kamoj

    kamoj Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    828
    It will be in next add-on release.

    For now you can do a simple work-around to keep Netgear debug page in parallel with the kamoj one:

    Follow the normal installation procedure, but add this command to the end.
    Code:
    \cp -p /rom/www/debug_detail.htm /www/debug_netgear.htm
    Then continue the installation as normal.

    To access the original Netgear page with fan info etc:
    http://www.routerlogin.net/debug_netgear.htm

     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2019
    kc6108 and L&LD like this.
  11. kc6108

    kc6108 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    @kamoj

    Suggestions

    System Version Information
    System Uptime
    - Move these under 'Router Information'

    CPU Frequencies
    - Move this above 'CPU Load Total (per core)'

    Temperatures CPU / WiFi0 / WiFi1
    - Separate the CPU temperature from the WiFi0/1 temperatures
    - Move the CPU temperature under 'CPU Load Total (per core)'
    - Move the WiFi0/1 temperatures to the WiFi0/1 sections respectively

    Enhancements

    CPU Load Total (per core)
    - Add a button to display the output from the 'top' command in a separate window
    - System Load Average could be removed to make room as it would be displayed above
    - Include the capability to auto-refresh and/or manually refresh

    Memory Usage (Used/Total)
    - Are you calculating this value differently than stock? If so, please show both.
    - I ask because used memory went from ~150MB to 768MB after installing your add-on

    Flash Usage (Used/Total)
    - Are you calculating this value differently than stock? If so, please show both.
    - I ask because used flash went from ~208MB to 448MB

    DNSCrypt v2 Servers
    - Don't display 'Forced:1: []' when server_names is commented out in the /etc/dnscrypt-proxy-2.toml configuration file
    - Display 'Date of: /etc/blacklist.txt' if blacklist_file is uncommented in the /etc/dnscrypt-proxy-2.toml configuration file
    - Add a button to display the contents of the '/etc/dnscrypt-proxy-2.toml' file in a separate window

    Port Status
    - Add the SFP+ port
    - I believe the possible values are Link down, 1G, or 10G
    - The SFP+ port can be used for LAN or WAN duties
    - When the SFP+ port is used for WAN duties it may be misleading to show the WAN port as down​

    Add the R9000 Fan section/table to the bottom

    Use the stock R9000 debug page to base your R9000 debug page on instead of the stock R7800 debug page
    - The options, their order, and their placement are slightly different
     
    kamoj likes this.
  12. kc6108

    kc6108 Regular Contributor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    Messages:
    127
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    @kamoj

    Bugs

    The uninstall process didn't restore my version of the /etc/rc.local file, but instead to the original version (with just exit 0).

    The uninstall process doesn't seem to restore the fan section/table correctly. It looks off, but I can't quite put my finger on what's changed. Maybe loss of borders and/or images?
     
    kamoj likes this.
  13. kamoj

    kamoj Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    828
    Thank you for your suggestions! :)

    Some comments:
    • I don't own or have access to an R9000, so I need help from someone with changes such as SFP+ etc :rolleyes:
    • Yes, the uninstall restores the Netgear stock version.:oops: Same as when updating the Firmware, you get the stock version.
      This will be fixed in a future release.
    • As for fan section, see https://www.snbforums.com/threads/k...x10-temperatures-a-o.55063/page-4#post-469140
      But it should look ok after uninstall, if you use http://www.routerlogin.net/debug.htm instead of debug_detail.htm / debug_netgear.htm. :confused:
      Can you check again and take screen dumps to find out what is wrong? (E.g. check the scroll bar ...)
     
  14. kamoj

    kamoj Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    828
  15. jsmiddleton4

    jsmiddleton4 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    560
    Kamoj,

    Good afternoon. Some time ago when I was trying to fix network clients not showing in the device list you told me the individual commands to use telnet to enter to address it. Changes the frequency of polling, something like that. Not your script, just the individual command lines that are in your script. I can't find that post. Would you mind posting them again?
     
  16. jsmiddleton4

    jsmiddleton4 Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2012
    Messages:
    560
    I found it.

    while true; do I=$(ip route|awk '/br0/&&/src/ {print $NF}'|awk -F"." '{for(i=1;i<=3;i++) printf $i"."; print ""}');for ip in $(seq 254);do $(ping -c1 $I$ip>/dev/null 2>/dev/null&); usleep 40000; done; sleep 600; done &
     
    kamoj likes this.
  17. kamoj

    kamoj Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    828
  18. Luuc Paauw

    Luuc Paauw Occasional Visitor

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2018
    Messages:
    37
    Kamoj is it possible to make an addon of Nzbget or Sabnzbd ?
     
  19. microchip

    microchip Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    699
    Location:
    Belgium
    Was experimenting here and went back to stock firmware. Installed the addon and it works on stock too. Of course, you won't get additional info on dnscrypt2 and others since they are missing on stock but everything else works on stock .63
     
    kamoj likes this.
  20. kamoj

    kamoj Very Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2017
    Messages:
    828
    And so it says on the first page of the topic: (It is also working with Netgear stock Firmware )

    Not sure though how to do with the upcoming release.
    There are many and big changes, so we have to see about that.

    Are there any Netgear stock users that use my addons?
     
    microchip likes this.