What's new

Looking for some direction on upgrades to home network

• SNBForums Code of Conduct

SNBForums is a community for everyone, no matter what their level of experience.

Please be tolerant and patient of others, especially newcomers. We are all here to share and learn!

The rules are simple: Be patient, be nice, be helpful or be gone!

Mark Kent

New Around Here
I am looking to upgrade my existing wired/wireless network. I’m a desktop admin by trade, so I don’t mind doing more reading (have already done a decent amount). I’m fine with just being pointed in the right direction.

Just some quick details. I live in western NY, my home was built in the late 70’s, is 2400 sq ft, sheetrock walls, copper wiring. I have 70 down, 5 up cable Internet. It comes into a Surfboard modem, from there it goes to a Netgear WNDR3700 running DD-WRT which handles both routing and wireless. There is a connection from the Netgear to a Cisco SG200 series switch. This feeds a number of CAT6 ports in the basement and 1st floor. I also have a Netgear powerline ethernet connection from the switch to the second floor master bedroom for my Roku. Everything works, no real issues.

For the most part, the wireless signal reaches all corners of the house. However, only the 2.4 is really usable in those areas and the signal is weak. Also, I’m on the porch or patio a lot in the summer and the signal is poor or non-existent. The router of course also does not support the latest standards.